Amp wiring? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-17-2010, 02:40 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moses Lake, Washington
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Amp wiring?

So tonight I finally put my amp and sub in but was wondering if there's a certain way to wire the amp to the battery or if I need to go to a certain battery or what. I think my batteries are getting weak anyways cause it don't turn over as fast anymore and now with my amp and sub, when the bass hits my battery needle goes down and when I'm just idling the needle is just below about half way and that don't seem right to me but I could be wrong so if I need to change somethin could someone please help me out? Thanks
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-17-2010, 03:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hudson, fl
Posts: 2,940
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I have mine on the drivers side battery, but i've never been able to hit hard enough to watch the needle move. How many watt amp is it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-21-2010, 04:56 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Moses Lake, Washington
Posts: 196
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1000 watt, it don't seem as bad now that I put a brand new sub in it cause the one I had in it seized up so I bout a new one and now it don't seem so bad so I'm not too concerned anymore lol and I had my batteries tested and they were fine so idk lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-21-2010, 08:15 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hudson, fl
Posts: 2,940
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Yeah, I have a pioneer 1000 watt slim sub in mine, with 800 watts to it, maybe it was just cause the sub was going bad?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-21-2010, 08:45 AM
Serving Our Country!

 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: jacksonville nc
Posts: 935
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to dirtbily
I hav 2 amps that run off my driver side battery, if your lights are dimming or the needle on your gauge is moving when the subs hit then you need to add a capasitor to your set up. It will eliminate all the extra the pull that amp needs to run correctly. I have a 2 farad cap that split between a 1000w amp that pushes my sub and 800 4channel that pushes the rest of my system if you have aany questions just pm me

hopes this help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-21-2010, 09:41 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: hudson, fl
Posts: 2,940
Thanks: 3
Thanked 11 Times in 10 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtbily View Post
I hav 2 amps that run off my driver side battery, if your lights are dimming or the needle on your gauge is moving when the subs hit then you need to add a capasitor to your set up. It will eliminate all the extra the pull that amp needs to run correctly. I have a 2 farad cap that split between a 1000w amp that pushes my sub and 800 4channel that pushes the rest of my system if you have aany questions just pm me

hopes this help
Sounds like your system slams!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-22-2010, 06:06 AM
Serving Our Country!

 

Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: jacksonville nc
Posts: 935
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to dirtbily
It does OK
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-22-2010, 06:23 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: NEW WINDSOR
Posts: 686
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I definitely agree with a capacitor or two.I run a 1000 watt amp and 2 subs.I use a fuse at the battery and one right by the amp with a cap 2 gauge wire and 8 gauge to the amp.Jmo
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-24-2010, 09:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: New Riegel, Ohio
Posts: 1,679
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i got m 1600 wat amp and sub wired to drivers side with 1600 watt compacitor and it dont move and boy does she hit hard
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors