Driver Side Door Switch dosent work - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 14 Old 08-21-2014, 02:08 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Driver Side Door Switch dosent work

All the other door switches work except the driver side switch. It only works when i manually turn the interior lights on idk if its a bad ground wire. I just would like to know if there is anything else i can do or if i should follow the entire length of wire through the truck. If anyone has any ideas please feel free to leave them thanks.
nova1972 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 08-22-2014, 02:12 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 185
Thanks: 8
Thanked 8 Times in 8 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Subscribing
I have the identical problem.

1996 F350 4x4 CCLB E4OD
Stage 1's, Tony Wildman Tunes, 6637 Intake, 5" Stainless Exhaust, Bilstein 5100's, FPR Spring Mod, Dark Blue CPS, Pillar Gauges (trans temp, pyro, boost), 6.0 Fan Mod, Tru-Cool Max Trans Cooler (and SD Cooler Lines), HPX Crossover, Alum Radiator, 203 Deg DieselSite Thermostat, '08 SD Alum Finned Rear Diff. Cover, PMF RSK (w/ V-Codes)
majorgator is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 08-22-2014, 06:17 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 3,957
Thanks: 4
Thanked 135 Times in 131 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you test the switch, removed from the circuit, with an ohmmeter or continuity tester? If so, what was the result? Did you test the circuit by removing the switch and jumpering the connector? If so, what was the result?
madpogue is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 08-22-2014, 10:13 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i did test it i only get power when i manually turn the interior lights on when there off i get nothing im currently following the wires where they go so im not sure yet the switch does work when manual power is turned on all the other doors work im not sure if its a bad wire or something else
nova1972 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 08-22-2014, 11:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 3,957
Thanks: 4
Thanked 135 Times in 131 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you're tunring on the lights "manually" (presumably using the headlight switch), then you're bypassing the door switch, which means it has no bearing on whether the switch works.

What were the results of the two independent tests mentioned above?
madpogue is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 08-24-2014, 12:12 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yes i tested the switch directly i get no power
nova1972 is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 08-24-2014, 01:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 3,957
Thanks: 4
Thanked 135 Times in 131 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Testing a switch does not involve power. Did you test it for continuity?
madpogue is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 08-28-2014, 05:13 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i tested the wires with a multimeter and i dont get continues power do you think its another switch or wireing problem
nova1972 is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 08-28-2014, 06:30 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 3,957
Thanks: 4
Thanked 135 Times in 131 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Did you test the SWITCH (with NO WIRES connected to it)? If you didn't you're chasing your tail.
madpogue is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 08-30-2014, 04:15 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Posts: 17
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I dont understand test it with no wires how am i supposed to test something electrical with no wires i tried another switch from one of the other doors and it does the same exact thing so please elaborate on what u mean.
nova1972 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome