Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum banner

Black soot at Exhaust brake and Turbo

4K views 13 replies 4 participants last post by  pk64f100 
#1 ·
Is this black soot a problem at exhaust brake and turbo, maybe a leak or gasket broken? See pics, there is a noisey engine compartment.

Attachments

See less See more
#3 ·
Exhuast brake

The truck has some kind of exhaust brake on it because it has a switch inside cab that when I turn it on there is an exhaust brake that comes on and slows truck down. The PO said he had a Garrett exhaust brake installed on truck and I know that this did not come on truck from factory. Where would the exhasust brake be installed on truck, it is supossed to be a turbo mount type?

Attachments

#4 ·
Maybe this is the type of brake the PO owner installed

Maybe this is the type of exhaust brake the PO installed, he told me it was a turbo mount unit made by Garrett but since I am very new to diesels and PS which I bought he may have misled me. I looked into types and can take pics of whatever is needed for help so I can find out exactly what I do have. I do have some kind of EB and it is turned on by a toggle switch on dash when I turn it on it does take aprox 1-2 seconds to engage exhaust braking system. Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

BD BrakeLoc Exhaust Brake
SKU: 1030755
1994 - 2003 Ford 7.3L Power Stroke, Manual Transmission

#5 ·
I just looked it up and the exhaust break uses the stock ebpv and is operated by the aftermarket controller. So you have a fully stock turbo that appears to have an exhaust leak on the exhaust housing.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App

#6 ·
I found this kit from Garrett