were did i go wrong on the gpr bypass? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: plantation,fl
Posts: 1,150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
were did i go wrong on the gpr bypass?

so i m doing this mod now,were you wire in a temp switch to monitor the coolant temp,once it gets so warm it wont let the gpr turn on,so when the truck is warmed up,the glow plugs will not come on.it also wsorks with the starter,were when you crank the starter it cuts the signal from gp's when they are on to make cranking easier and take some load off the batts,so intercepted the small wire on the gpr and connected it to the switch,ran other wire from switch to the relay prong #30.then ran a wire from that terminal on the gpr to the relay terminal #85.also ran wire from starter selonoid to power the relay itself,also grounded it.its not workin.the instructions arent the best but im tryin to figure them out here.can someone tell me were i went wrong? if you can foloow it?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:21 PM
Emergency Services
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 5,538
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to cchase
I dont really get the point to it, if i didnt want my gps to go, i would just turn key and start it...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cornwall, PA
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You probably have your wiring to the relay a little messed up. Here is the typical 12v relay wiring (SPDT).

Terminals 86 and 85 are your "trigger" terminals. One terminal (usually 85) gets run to ground and 86 gets wired to the switched 12v.

Terminal 30 is normally connected to terminal 87a, when the relay gets energized terminal 30 is connected to terminal 87.

Last edited by Hoytster; 11-23-2008 at 12:38 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cornwall, PA
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Try this:

You have the power to the GPR going through the temp switch now. You have the output from the temp switch connected to terminal 30 on the relay.
Connect the wire from the GPR to terminal 87a (you currently have it on 85)
Make sure you have a grounded wire connected to terminal 85. Connect the 12v from the starter selonoid to terminal 86.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: plantation,fl
Posts: 1,150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
will do thanks bud
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-23-2008, 01:33 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: plantation,fl
Posts: 1,150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by cchase View Post
I dont really get the point to it, if i didnt want my gps to go, i would just turn key and start it...
even if you do just crank it they stay on while its running,this will eliminate them altogether when its warm,also it cuts the power to them while you are cranking the engine,therefore lees strain on batts.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-23-2008, 02:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: plantation,fl
Posts: 1,150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
anybody else,some help?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-23-2008, 05:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: plantation,fl
Posts: 1,150
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
wheres dzljim when you need him,if anybody can bring this to his attention it would be great.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-23-2008, 08:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,287
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Not sure exactly what kit you have but if you need to do this I would wire it like this.
On terminal 86 will be all of the triggers you would use when you do not want the glow plugs to work like factory. Like a signal from a temp switch, starter, or toggle. When any of these are activated the power from pin 30 would go to 87 which is not used.
Wire a good ground to terminal 85
Wire that used to go to GPR put on terminal 30
Wire to GPR put on terminal 87a
If the relay is not activated the power will come in on pin 30 and follow right to the GPR in 87a like it was designed from the factory.
This will allow the glow plugs to work as factory if you do not want to change anything.
Now that I wrote all that out I almost have myself confused. Sorry if this is not clear. JJ

Last edited by Hardline; 11-23-2008 at 08:32 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-24-2008, 03:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Cornwall, PA
Posts: 236
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hardline View Post
Not sure exactly what kit you have but if you need to do this I would wire it like this.
On terminal 86 will be all of the triggers you would use when you do not want the glow plugs to work like factory. Like a signal from a temp switch, starter, or toggle. When any of these are activated the power from pin 30 would go to 87 which is not used.
Wire a good ground to terminal 85
Wire that used to go to GPR put on terminal 30
Wire to GPR put on terminal 87a
If the relay is not activated the power will come in on pin 30 and follow right to the GPR in 87a like it was designed from the factory.
This will allow the glow plugs to work as factory if you do not want to change anything.
Now that I wrote all that out I almost have myself confused. Sorry if this is not clear. JJ
That's what I said Only difference is he's telling you run the temp switch to the same terminal on the relay as the starter selenoid. That won't work because it will also trigger the starter selenoid when the temp switch kicks on. I would still put the temp switch in between the GPR wire coming from the ECU going to terminal 30 on the relay. Try it, it'll work.

Last edited by Hoytster; 11-24-2008 at 03:43 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors