Wierd throttle issue. - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2008, 07:30 AM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Wierd throttle issue.

I tried searching but after half an hour I gave up.

I'm new to the 7.3 PS so some things just don't compute for me. For instance, If I don't set the parking brake when I start the car, the throttle doesn't work. I can start the truck just fine, it idles fine but when I step on the throttle, the pedal depresses but the engine just idles and the transmission won't engage.

After it runs for a minute or two it generally works fine OR if I shut 'er down, set the parking brake and restart, it will run fine. Now does anyone have any ideas about this? If I was running from zombies I'd be stuck...

Ron
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-07-2008, 07:33 AM
Emergency Services

Send a message via AIM to cchase
that is one of the odds things i have heard... i dont even know where to start
Old 11-07-2008, 07:35 AM
Conservative and Proud

Sounds like gremlins to me! Sorry I had to.

One of the great techs should be along shortly!
Old 11-07-2008, 07:36 AM
Shade tree mechanic

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
this is wierd. could a faulty TPS do this?
Old 11-07-2008, 08:56 AM

Here is more of the story. The vehicle has a Ford idle controller...

What IZZIT?

In order to get to the back of the engine I have to disconnect the unit to remove the doghouse over the rear of the engine (E350 4x4 van). Yesterday I removed the unit to R&R the glow plug relay. Today the issue appeared again. This does not happen every time I start the engine but it seems to be only when it is cold. Once warm all is (knock on wood) good.