Battery discharges - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-29-2008, 04:56 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question Battery discharges

I'm new to this sight, and I have 2 F-350 Powerstroke's a '97 7.3, and a '06 6.0, here we go with my favorite first!!! My '97 F-350 Power Stroke is discharging slowly overnight. Eventually I have to charge it. I had the batteries checked O.K. the alt. is putting out 14V, there is an 8V discharge when it is not running, I understand it should not be over 4V. I read where you disconect both negative cables from the batt, and put a test light between the post and neg cable, and if it is bright there is a short, and remove fuses one at a time until the light gets dim. I did it, and when I had gone through all the fuses, nothing happened and I'm looking at the test light, and it starts pulsating, and then it stopped and was dimmer. I believe it might have to do with the glow plug relay. Lately when you turn the key on by the count of 3, the wait light goes off and it is hard to start, and a lot of white smoke when it starts. where is the relay, and how do I test it??? Does anybody have any other ideas???
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 09-29-2008, 09:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews