Underhood light? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-11-2013, 11:37 AM
KS_ KS_ is offline
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 567
Thanks: 6
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Underhood light?

I have a somewhat newer hood I have from the junkyard, it came with a light under the hood and a connector. I've looked and looked and can't seem to find where this connects. Anyone have any idea where it connects?

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 10-11-2013, 11:45 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,952
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Wiring harnesses can be different from model level to model level. For example, my Excursion had the optional tube style running boards but I bought some regular lighted running boards off a guy that had the same year of Excursion as I did but there was no harness plug on my Excursion for them to connect to.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 10-11-2013, 11:49 AM
KS_ KS_ is offline
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 567
Thanks: 6
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That would just be a shame.. this light would come in handy. I just don't know how I would even start to go about running it to where it would work without a harness. Idk if it works off sensing when the hood is open or what

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 10-11-2013, 12:18 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Woodside, California
Posts: 365
Thanks: 3
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have one and never even thought how it goes on and off. There is no visible switch. It comes on and off right about 10* above level. Maybe a mercury type switch?

Not sure of this any help to you but here ya go anyway.

[IMG][/IMG]

It is tapped into the wiring bundle that runs right below
[IMG][/IMG]
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 10-11-2013, 12:27 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,952
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
The ones I've seen had a mercury switch.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 10-11-2013, 12:35 PM
KS_ KS_ is offline
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 567
Thanks: 6
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah I'm sol lol, I would try running the wires straight into the bundle but its not worth it to screw something up. I was just seeing if I needed a new glowplug relay when I seen the cord dangling from under my hood.

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 10-11-2013, 12:36 PM
KS_ KS_ is offline
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 567
Thanks: 6
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Attached Thumbnails
Underhood light?-1381523769229.jpg  
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 10-11-2013, 12:51 PM
RollinEarly05...now


 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Klamath Falls
Posts: 3,321
Thanks: 27
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
Just run a wire from the light to the battery with an inline fuse. The light comes on when the hood is lifted past a certain angle. Or you could run it from the fuse block for a cleaner look.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 10-11-2013, 01:10 PM
KS_ KS_ is offline
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 567
Thanks: 6
Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't need to worry about that black wire that I'm guessing is a ground? Or do I need to ground it

Sent from AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 10-11-2013, 01:11 PM
RollinEarly05...now


 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Klamath Falls
Posts: 3,321
Thanks: 27
Thanked 23 Times in 22 Posts
Feedback Score: 10 reviews
You need to ground it also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors