Electrical Question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 06-14-2008, 06:54 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
benderado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Casper, WY
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Electrical Question

My hazard flashers do not work. So my question is are the hazards and turn signals on the same circuit or different ones?

HI.....I'm Kyle
RIP: 1996 F-250 X-Cab Long Bed
Now: 2006 Ram 2500 CC SB SLT 6 Speed
benderado is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 Old 06-14-2008, 10:38 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Jackson's Hole, WY
Posts: 523
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 2
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
sometimes they have a separate fuse, I don't know if ours do. A possibility is the flasher unit itself.

99 F350 CCLB 67k miles.

Sold: 01 Dodge cummins ECLB a few more mods to 353hp

Sold: 97 F250 SCLB, 5 speed 2wd. minor mods to 327hp

See a pattern? next I will have to find one of those 6 door jobbers...
Big Bird is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 06-15-2008, 02:23 AM
Infidel

 
TexasR.N.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There is a big round relay (hope terminology is correct) at the base of the fuse box in the dash, drivers side. I had to replace mine when the hazards quit working.
Craig

Remember Ft. Hood

And never forget who did it

Religion of peace my жопа


Quote:
Originally Posted by JK23112 View Post

Ah, we can lead a man to knowledge.....but we can't make him think.
TexasR.N. is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 06-15-2008, 08:38 AM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
benderado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Casper, WY
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by HappeetxnR.N. View Post
There is a big round relay (hope terminology is correct) at the base of the fuse box in the dash, drivers side. I had to replace mine when the hazards quit working.
Craig
Did your turn signals still work when your hazards quit working?

HI.....I'm Kyle
RIP: 1996 F-250 X-Cab Long Bed
Now: 2006 Ram 2500 CC SB SLT 6 Speed
benderado is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 06-15-2008, 10:53 AM
Infidel

 
TexasR.N.'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 5,166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by benderado View Post
Did your turn signals still work when your hazards quit working?
Honestly I don't remember. This happened about 3 years ago.
Craig

Remember Ft. Hood

And never forget who did it

Religion of peace my жопа


Quote:
Originally Posted by JK23112 View Post

Ah, we can lead a man to knowledge.....but we can't make him think.
TexasR.N. is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 06-15-2008, 11:16 AM
Electrical Ogre
 
alberta 7.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 12,022
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Thanks: 30
Thanked 72 Times in 69 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
There is 2 flashers, Hazard is on back of dash fuse panel, hazard power is shared with brake lights, if brake lights function, hazard circuit is getting power. Dicker with the hazard switch, push up and down repeatedly and wiggle it, sometimes dust will cause the hazard button to stick and not complete a connection. If flasher and fuse are good, suspect worn multi-function switch.

Bill

1996 F250 SC/SB 4X4 XLT
1997 F250 RC/SB 2WD project
2008 F350 CC/LB 4X4 DRW Lariat, 3" cow catcher mod
2008 Ranger SC FX4
Quote:
Originally Posted by weareweird69 View Post
If your posting pictures bill, everyone dim their screens, that CAT YELLOW is bright
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fordman247365 View Post
Is there anything you DONT take apart and **** with?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJFLASH View Post
I still say that those Dodge mirrors have as much business on a OBS Ford as yoga pants have on a fat chick...my .02
alberta 7.3 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 06-15-2008, 11:34 AM
ADMIN AND TECH


 
SCUFFY828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,289
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ill agree with the possible mutli function switch causig concern , they have given some problems over the years , both hazards and turn signals go thru it , and are on same cicuit from multi function switch out , if i remember correctly they do have seperate feed power fuses, may be wrong on that

SCUFFY828@POWERSTROKE.ORG
ITS STOCK
SCUFFY828 is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 06-15-2008, 06:01 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
benderado's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Casper, WY
Posts: 317
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Alright, thanks. I was thinking the switch was a good possibility

HI.....I'm Kyle
RIP: 1996 F-250 X-Cab Long Bed
Now: 2006 Ram 2500 CC SB SLT 6 Speed
benderado is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 06-15-2008, 09:36 PM
Transmission or Injectors
 
lwillson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Saskatoon, SK
Posts: 741
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I had the same problem with mine, and it was close to the multi-function switch. The connector that had all the wires for the multifunction switch was not holding wire going to the hazards, and it just pushed backwards out of the connector, causing it to not make contact when the connector was in all the way. I just had to push the wire back into the connector, and all was good. To ensure it stayed in, I think I put a small cable tie around the hazard wire tying it to another wire.

lwillson is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome