CB radio info help please - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-08-2008, 02:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 642
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to kx592
CB radio info help please

Well I want to have a CB radio so that I can say I have a good reason for the 3ft whips I can run the coax (missspelled) cable but im not sure how to wire the power from the fuse box. can anyone help me out with how i get the power?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-08-2008, 02:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 2,027
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
not shure i can ask my dad and get back to you but here a
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-08-2008, 03:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Tulsa, OK
Posts: 4,230
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
my fuse panel is under my dash, i have my CB wired into a fuse there.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-08-2008, 03:12 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Effort/Nanticoke,Pa.
Posts: 5,441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Strőkër~X View Post
my fuse panel is under my dash, i have my CB wired into a fuse there.
I did the same thing with the hot wire. Picked a fuse that has constant power backed the fuse out and stuck the wire in and pushed the fuse in tight. Then took the black wire and grounded it to a metal bracket underneath the dash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-08-2008, 03:16 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,762
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
I hooked mine directly to the battery with inline fuse. When you get the radio read the owners manual for installation directions. Install it with the way they say to. Some radios require a good powersource like my radio RCI 6300FT needs to be hooked directly to the battery due to the power it requires.

Also make sure you have the antenna matched to the radio. This will prevent damage to the radio and will ensure the best performance from the radio.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-08-2008, 03:27 PM
Let's go B's!!!!

 

Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Remington, Va. U.S.A.
Posts: 6,017
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigcountrysg View Post
I hooked mine directly to the battery with inline fuse. When you get the radio read the owners manual for installation directions. Install it with the way they say to. Some radios require a good powersource like my radio RCI 6300FT needs to be hooked directly to the battery due to the power it requires.

Also make sure you have the antenna matched to the radio. This will prevent damage to the radio and will ensure the best performance from the radio.

exactly right. Run it to the battery imo also. Don't mess around with the fuse panel, but you do have to put your own in line fuse in.

Oh, don't forget, you can run dual whips, but don't hook them both to the radio. Yoiu'll never get it to work right....

Good luck

later
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-08-2008, 03:35 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: May 2007
Location: Effort/Nanticoke,Pa.
Posts: 5,441
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Southpaw View Post
Don't mess around with the fuse panel
It might be too complicated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-08-2008, 03:45 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lombard, IL
Posts: 103
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I agree! Go to the Battery. If you run to the fuse panel you get tons of RF interence from all the components run to the box such as blower motor windshild wipers.... Remember HIEGHT is MIGHT... 3ft whips wont cut it.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-08-2008, 03:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: New Riegel, Ohio
Posts: 5,229
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I ran dual 4 footers on my 79 and it nave came in good was it maybe because both whips were hooked to the radio??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 05-08-2008, 04:16 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,762
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
If you run dual antennas then they need to be properly spaced. Aproximately 1ft for every ft of antenna. So if your running dual 4ft antennas then they need to be spaced at least 8ft from each other in order to operate properly.

Also when you run duals you end up sending beams forward and backwards. This is why truckers will run duals so they transpond forward and behind them which is usaully the directions they wish to speak.

When you run a single antenna you transpond in a 360 degree circle. Now typical radio's and antennas are good up to 5 miles. Non-modified standard CB radios work with around 5watts of power. They work with in a specific frequency range from channel 1-40.

Other radios 10m, 12m, fm, radios work differently and require licenses from the FCC to be used. 10m, 12m and radios with side band are considered HAM radios and require a HAM license. FM shortwave radios require a shortwave license from the FCC.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 05:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors