HELP!!!scanned my 97 psd 6codes came up no ses light on ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2008, 03:53 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DuBois Pa
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
HELP!!!scanned my 97 psd 6codes came up no ses light on ?

hey guys,
been having a small problem with my truck lately, after i start it up and drive around 2-3 miles it will sometimes jerk, like the engine runs out of fuel?
just for a second. when it does it, it also shoots a puff of blue or black smoke out of the exhaust, no engine lights ever kick on,
another thing i noticed was if if was accelerating hard and rev hard it will cut out the same way at 3000 rpm`s , blow a puff of smoke
any help will be grreat!


so i hooked up my edge evo and ran the diognostics test came back with
six codes...

1) P1280- ICP Curcuit out of range,low

2) P0603- Internal control module, keep alive memory,(kam) error

3) P0344- Camshaft position sensor, circut intermittent

4) P0236- Turbo boost sensor, A circut Range/Performance

5) P0470- Exhaust pressure sensor, malfunction

6) P1111- Intake air temp sensor(IAT) , intermittent high voltage

truck seems to run ok the way it is but i`ve only owned it for about three weeks, so maybe it could run better?


truck is a 97 psd w/ 177k 5-speed,
3"dp, 4" straight xhaust, intake , 10k mod, edge evolution,
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:01 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: spruce pine,nc
Posts: 108
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
cam sensor bad
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:13 PM
Too cool for school


 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9,889
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via AIM to taylorking Send a message via Yahoo to taylorking
not particularly the cam sensor... I've replaced mine and scanned it again and got the 603 code also.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:16 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Do you have a chip? Have your batteries been d/c recently? 10k mod?

1) P1280- ICP Curcuit out of range,low - this can cause a myriad of problems... jerking, no power, sudden power, etc...

check the ICP sensor for oil.


2) P0603- Internal control module, keep alive memory,(kam) error - battery disconnection or chip/program usually makes this code.

3) P0344- Camshaft position sensor, circut intermittent - Possible cam sensor.


4) P0236- Turbo boost sensor, A circut Range/Performance - I'll look more into this but this can also cause some issues you've stated. This is usually associated with a chip/program, but idk if you have one.


5) P0470- Exhaust pressure sensor, malfunction - this means the sensor has detected an error in opening or closeing the valve, or you have a clogged EBP tube.


6) P1111- Intake air temp sensor(IAT) , intermittent high voltage - meanial code - maybe just a short or it got water on it etc... it plugs into the back of the intake box.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:18 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I just noticed this part of your post...

Quote:
intake , 10k mod, edge evolution
What did you do with the Air Intake Temperature Sensor? Make sure it's zip-tied out of the way and not rubbing the wires or something.

Take the 10k out... it's not helping or really doing anything since you have a program. I'll bet you have oil in the sensor. unplug the sensor, remove the 10k and clean that thing good. Any oil in that connection is a REALL problem.

And the Edge is causing your KAM error.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:40 PM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iva, SC
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Maintain View Post
I just noticed this part of your post...



What did you do with the Air Intake Temperature Sensor? Make sure it's zip-tied out of the way and not rubbing the wires or something.

Take the 10k out... it's not helping or really doing anything since you have a program. I'll bet you have oil in the sensor. unplug the sensor, remove the 10k and clean that thing good. Any oil in that connection is a REALL problem.

And the Edge is causing your KAM error.
Nice work Marty, I guess you are a "fart smeller"




Cleaning the EBP is pretty easy, if you need any help let me know, I just did mine a couple days ago.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:45 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by pipelayerjdh View Post
Nice work Marty, I guess you are a "fart smeller"


Cleaning the EBP is pretty easy, if you need any help let me know, I just did mine a couple days ago.
LOL thanks.

And no need Derrick - I already did a small how-to on it.

EBP Tube Cleaning
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:48 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: DuBois Pa
Posts: 84
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i did replace the batts a week ago, i will check the icp sensor for oil and remove the 1ok resistor, i dont think its doin much anyway.
as for the intake air temp sensor i`m not sure , i`ll havto look tomorow, the diy intake was on it when i bought it.
as for as the cps sensor its looks new but its goin in for the cps recall this week... Jason
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:50 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Sounds like your set. You'll likely end up having the turbo/exhaust pressure codes left after it's all said and done.

I'll get you a picture of the Air Intake Temp sensor.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-02-2008, 04:51 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Here's the DIY intake thread.
DIY Intake

Here is a picture of the sensor.
http://thumb5.webshots.net/t/63/63/2...5PKJlQp_th.jpg

Last edited by Marty; 03-02-2008 at 04:56 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors