New Turbo - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-26-2008, 09:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 717
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New Turbo

I was woundering what it would take to put a newer turbo on my truck? What would I need to do to put a 99 turbo on my truck or maybe a turbo from a 6.0. What would be the best? What issues would i face? how much power would I gain from each?

Thanks!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-27-2008, 02:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: miami fl
Posts: 507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to FiberglassEater
im wondering myself
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-27-2008, 02:14 PM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iva, SC
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
For a SD turbo, you have to use the SD up pipes, Y pipe, turbo pedestal, etc. I'm not sure what you would have to do to get the downpipe to work. The rest should be pretty easy. I don't see any gain from running a SD turbo, though. The 6.0 turbo would be neat just for the variable vain, but I wouldn't want to imagine all the work it would take to get it on an OBS. The turbo you have is good for all the power you can make with your stock injectors. You do have a couple aftermarket choices, like the H2 and D66.

You could use a 1.0 turbine housing to get quicker spool. This is a great option on our trucks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-27-2008, 02:24 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 6 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Forget the SD turbo's and buy an aftermarket that is bolt on.

H2E or D66.

You'll want an intercooler as well.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-27-2008, 07:27 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 717
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I was thinking a turbo from an 03 6.0 seeing what it would take for that?? what does on intercooler do for me? I dont have one?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-29-2008, 09:03 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Smithsburg, Maryland
Posts: 278
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i was told by a diesel shop that you cant put a ball bearing turbo on an obs cause theres not enough room
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-29-2008, 09:09 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,083
Thanks: 113
Thanked 98 Times in 90 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZachBoyer View Post
I was thinking a turbo from an 03 6.0 seeing what it would take for that?? what does on intercooler do for me? I dont have one?
I dont think its possible to put a 6.0 VGT turbo on a 7.3
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-29-2008, 09:26 AM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
I dont think its possible to put a 6.0 VGT turbo on a 7.3
Actually Dave it is possible there was someone in California that did it VanAkinbrothers or somthing like that. I actually saw a video of a truck where they were testing and just had to get the programming right and they were going to market it. Not sure what ever happened
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-29-2008, 09:31 AM
Almostdunfukinwidit


 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Trempealeau, WI
Posts: 31,083
Thanks: 113
Thanked 98 Times in 90 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to Dave
I stand corrected then Thanks man
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-29-2008, 09:33 AM
Desert Shield/Storm Vet

 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Munising, MI.
Posts: 9,092
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I will see what I can find for info. They were on the diesel stop maybe they had issues as I never heard much after they were testing it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 06:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors