Ford aux idle control - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:11 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Auburn, MA
Posts: 60
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ford aux idle control

Is this unit from ford a direct wire? does it just plug into part of the harness?

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:25 AM
KVFD
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kearney, Nebraska
Posts: 4,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to redstroker_2002
what is it bud??? u should of just got a custom chip with the high idle mod on same deal less money and u get most bang for ur buck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:55 AM
Too cool for school


 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9,886
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via AIM to taylorking Send a message via Yahoo to taylorking
oo my dad has one of them...they are really nice and work really wel for jumping off cars. The screen is backlit and shows real-time rpm's or whatever u want.

I can ask him how he installed it, but it wasn't hard at all
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 02-23-2008, 03:36 PM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iva, SC
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have bid on several of those on ebay, never win though. I just like the Ford oval button on it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 02-23-2008, 07:10 PM
Too cool for school


 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9,886
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via AIM to taylorking Send a message via Yahoo to taylorking
haha...my dad said there is a plug under the dash where u just lpug it in, i asked him a little while ago.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 02-23-2008, 08:50 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 179
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have one in my 99 the bracket just fits under the ashtray door over the tranny hump, and plugs in under the dash in the same area. may be different on your 97 but looks like you have the manual there
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 02-23-2008, 11:03 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yea, the harness is on under the left side of the dash, should be somewhere around the brace next to the floor vents. It just plugs up. Mounting is different from what the supplied instructions say...being a obs truck. If I can dig up some batteries, I'll take a couple pics of mine. I like mine, especially on cold morrnings, fire the truck up, and set the idle for a few minutes. The only thing I dont like, is the park brake must be set. I know its a safty feature, but hope I can find away around it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 02-24-2008, 05:47 AM
Too cool for school


 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 9,886
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
Send a message via AIM to taylorking Send a message via Yahoo to taylorking
yeah the thing mounts right out of the way, and looks very very nice! There are no wires to be seen, or anything like that

Wonder if they were a factory option back in the day?
lol
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 02-24-2008, 06:06 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Mass
Posts: 780
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The guy I drive tow trucks for has these in his f-550's 01&03 they are used for the high idle option you can adjust the Rpm's for the PTO
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 02-24-2008, 10:35 AM
Electrical Ogre
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 11,582
Thanks: 29
Thanked 49 Times in 46 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
the plug-in should be along the bottom line of the dash, about center of the tranny hump. It's a PITA to find, but it is there. All harnesses from 95-03 have the same connectors, so no adapting is required.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors