e4od to zf5 swap intrest in writeup?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-11-2013, 02:54 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
e4od to zf5 swap intrest in writeup??

So i had a neighbor from down the road approch me today and asked if i was intrested in swapping trannys and all related components with him. i of coarse said yes cause i want a 5 spd in my crew. i was just wondering if there is any intrest in a writeup of the project. also if anyone has any tips to share id appreciate it. im a diesel wrench by trade so this will be a pretty simple swap for me but i might have a few questions along the way. i figure if i can do this on clasd 8 rigs a pickup should b a breeze. His trucks identical to mine 97 cclb psd 4x4. one thing im not sure of is ds lenghts. same or different? thanks for any input! Derek
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-11-2013, 05:23 PM
DERAIL MOD!!!

Feedback Score: 4 reviews
drive shaft lengths will be different, but must be nice he wants to trade ya all of it straight up, wish that would happen to me, and yes, I would be interested in a write up
Old 04-11-2013, 05:58 PM

Im pretty excited about the whole deal i guess he is doing a cummins swap and would rather have a auto which is beyond me but whatever floats his boat.
Old 04-11-2013, 09:43 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

If i were you i would jump on that pronto. Who swaps there 5 speed for an automatic??? honestly lol.
Old 04-12-2013, 04:04 PM
Hillbilly Deluxe

Feedback Score: 3 reviews
You will need to swap drive shafts as well. Different lengths on the E4OD vs the ZF. Somewhere there is a list of parts required for the swap. PCM is a must, along with the trans harness. I will be doing the swap as well in a few weeks hopefully.
Old 04-12-2013, 04:41 PM
Compression Ignition Addict