Toggle Switch? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-24-2008, 10:28 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Farmersville, Ohio
Posts: 775
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Toggle Switch?

Ive got 4 toggle switchs in my truck to run misc things such as 2 fog on the rear bumper, air horn, front fogs, and amber floor lights. Currently the switches are mounted right above the transfer case lever, hard to get to. If anyone has a better idea on where to put them im up for it. This is my slow time of the year so i tinker with my truck alot.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:39 PM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
 

Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iva, SC
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have made a panel out of aluminum to mount switcheds in a '99 SD's storage compartment under the steering wheel. You could try something like that.

I have my fog/driving light switch and exhaust brake switch beside the WTS light.


Here is my auxiliary light switch.


I also used this at one time for strobes. It takes some Dremel work and careful planning to make sure you don't interfere with things in the dash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-24-2008, 12:46 PM
International Threat
 

Join Date: May 2006
Location: Elkton, MD
Posts: 13,087
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Derrick good pics and ideas...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-24-2008, 05:59 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Derrick i like how you mounted the fog light switch, im planning on putting fog lights in this weekend or the next and really like your idea. if there are any tips you could give me for mounting the switch there that would be great. thanks in advance
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-24-2008, 06:09 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Birchwood, TN
Posts: 854
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Tikal
I've been thinkin' 'bout takin' my ashtray out and putting in a panel there. Anyone tried that?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-24-2008, 06:10 PM
KVFD
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Kearney, Nebraska
Posts: 4,061
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to redstroker_2002
how did u hook up ur air horns?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-24-2008, 06:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Birchwood, TN
Posts: 854
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Tikal
P.S. Do you have a pic of your floor lights farm boy? That sounds like a cool idea!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-24-2008, 06:15 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Farmersville, Ohio
Posts: 775
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah ill try to get it up tomorrow, if not ill do it wed. when i get back in town, the air horns are ran off of a 12v compressor. no resivor so it takes a moment to get them goin, i am lookin to mount a 5 - 10 gallon tank on the frame rail to run the horns and to have air for tools and tires
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-25-2008, 08:04 PM
Electrical Ogre
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 11,325
Thanks: 29
Thanked 40 Times in 37 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Here's some I fabbed up for an oversize escort vehicle, in that seemingly useless storage pocket. Switches were rated for only 2A, so they were driving relays for the large loads (which is a good idea to avoid running a heap of high current wires through the firewall) Sorry about the crappy pic, but it's a scan of an old photo

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-25-2008, 11:11 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
12Voltguy.com: Custom Switch Panels
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors