Coolant gauge indication - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 5 Old 03-13-2013, 12:23 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Coolant gauge indication

http://img593.imageshack.us/img593/8642/imageqri.jpg

Been a little concerned about my coolant gauge for a while, never stays in the middle of the C and H, infact, it's never been like that until I climb a small hill then it shoots up rapidly. Not too sure if my TStat is stuck open or I'm just being totally paranoid!?

Anyone got any suggestions?

Struggling to post pictures up via iPhone.

Many thanks in advance
Rob73 is offline  
post #2 of 5 Old 03-13-2013, 01:06 PM
DERAIL MOD!!!


 
351fifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canton and kennesaw
Posts: 23,180
Thanks: 34
Thanked 207 Times in 195 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
How high does it shoot up? Mine stays just a little higher than that but not much, got it mid level once towing up hill a good load

-Kris-
2000 excursion V10 2wd 230k
2000 Excursion 7.3 4x4 246k
1995 CCLB DRW 324K
2001 CCLB DRW 319K
Dp tuner infinity, exhaust, intake, chipped, tricked, and wrecked


Quote:
Originally Posted by marine5811
The stock downpipe in an OBS is flat because I'm a ginger.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3
Finding a decent woman is like shopping for a used truck. You spend most of your time picking through the money pits, wrecks, and basket cases until you find one that you can tolerate
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJFLASH
Well at least you caught the loose bolts before they cause any damage. Nothing worse than a sloppy hole
351fifty is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 03-13-2013, 01:16 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, same as mine. Went between the M and L when towing uphill then for some reason went into "lag mode" (or so it seemed). I completely lost power, didn't stall but just didn't have anything there. Initial thoughts was some sort of temp overload which wouldn't make my revs go over a certain limit to try and drive down the temperature?
Rob73 is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 03-13-2013, 05:37 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 724
Thanks: 2
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob73 View Post
Yeah, same as mine. Went between the M and L when towing uphill then for some reason went into "lag mode" (or so it seemed). I completely lost power, didn't stall but just didn't have anything there. Initial thoughts was some sort of temp overload which wouldn't make my revs go over a certain limit to try and drive down the temperature?
This "lag mod" is interesting, and seems something similar with my truck,: ...Initial thoughts was some sort of temp overload which wouldn't make my revs go over a certain limit to try and drive down the temperature?... and EGTs, so Id like to hear comments about this. Or maybe is something wrong with my auto tranny: solenoid?
CELAYORK is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 03-16-2013, 12:38 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 105
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Running too cool

Hey Guys,

Just wanted to update this to those that commented. So my temp guage was running on the first line of the normal (see pictures above). I researched it a little more and found the link above.

I decided to change out the TStat for new. For the cost of $18 decided the job was worth doing just to prove a point.

My guage now reads between the N and the O part of "normal". So my old TStat was indeed stuck open constantly cooling my engine (oil) and never getting upto the so called perfect 203F these trucks like to run at.

My old TStat was made in Germany so guessing it wasn't the stock one but a cheap one from eBay. There are certain things worth saving money on but when it comes to something as important as the thermostat I would rather spend the extra few dollars!

I hope this post helps others out in the future.
Rob73 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome