Weird fluid leak around bell housing/starter... - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-03-2013, 12:02 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Weird fluid leak around bell housing/starter...

First off Im new to diesels, so any help is appreciated. I bought this truck yesterday with 189k on it, it ran well and looked well at the time. So I get it home and even with the 45mile drive home it ran fine. Today I went out to move it and I see it has a leak. And where I moved it there is a trail of fluid, seems to be diesel fuel. There is also some wetness on top of the engine, like between the heads, on top. I know some of this might be normal due to its age. But any help is appreciate on where to start looking, figuring out what is what.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-03-2013, 12:19 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 9 reviews
Old 03-03-2013, 01:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Sounds like a typical fuel leak up in the valley. It's likely we've all delt with it on these old 'strokes. The fuel bowl is appearant right in the middle if the valley. It can leak from several points, some being rebuildable (orings. Order from bob at dieselorings.com). The old rubber fuel lines could be leaking too as could the fuel pump which is in the back of the valley under the turbo pedistal. For the price of a replacement fuel bowl and pump you can just about build yourself an electric fuel system and take all that crap out of the valley. Do a search, there's plenty of write ups. As it sits now its a matter of locating the leak (99% it's up in the valley and draining out the back of the block), and replacing, rebuilding or deleting and going e fuel.
Old 03-03-2013, 02:39 PM
the baconator

Feedback Score: 1 reviews