Name that sensor? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 01-05-2008, 07:43 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Stroker444's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Virginia
Posts: 39
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Name that sensor?

On my 96 I have fuel leaking from a sensor on the fuel filter housing. If your looking at the motor its on the top right and its metal with a black plastic top.
The leak filled the intake valley. I called it a fuel pressure sensor but advance auto part had no listing for it.
Stroker444 is offline  
post #2 of 16 Old 01-05-2008, 07:44 AM
ADMIN AND TECH


 
SCUFFY828's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: winston salem north carolina
Posts: 9,314
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
thats caled the vaccum switch , they are known for leaking

SCUFFY828@POWERSTROKE.ORG
ITS STOCK
SCUFFY828 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 01-05-2008, 08:11 AM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 
CHUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ford part only. You can replace it, or find the correct size plug, and install it inplace of the switch. The switch operates the water in fuel light. With the plug, the light wont work, just have to be sure and drain the fuel bowl every couple weeks.

Chuck
CHUCK is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 01-05-2008, 08:23 AM
Electrical Ogre
 
alberta 7.3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 12,094
Thanks: 30
Thanked 78 Times in 75 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 84 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CHUCK View Post
Ford part only. You can replace it, or find the correct size plug, and install it inplace of the switch. The switch operates the water in fuel light. With the plug, the light wont work, just have to be sure and drain the fuel bowl every couple weeks.

I thought it was the "FUEL FILTER" light switch, Vacuum=restricted filter. I beleive the water in fuel sensor is at the bottom of the bowl with the fuel heater connector.

Bill

1996 F250 SC/SB 4X4 XLT
1997 F250 RC/SB 2WD project
2008 F350 CC/LB 4X4 DRW Lariat, 3" cow catcher mod
2008 Ranger SC FX4
Quote:
Originally Posted by weareweird69 View Post
If your posting pictures bill, everyone dim their screens, that CAT YELLOW is bright
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fordman247365 View Post
Is there anything you DONT take apart and **** with?
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJFLASH View Post
I still say that those Dodge mirrors have as much business on a OBS Ford as yoga pants have on a fat chick...my .02
alberta 7.3 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 01-05-2008, 12:08 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 
CHUCK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
your right, sorry bout that.... fuel filter light

Chuck
CHUCK is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 01-10-2008, 09:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 517
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stroker444 View Post
On my 96 I have fuel leaking from a sensor on the fuel filter housing. If your looking at the motor its on the top right and its metal with a black plastic top.
The leak filled the intake valley. I called it a fuel pressure sensor but advance auto part had no listing for it.
It is called a Fuel Filter Vacuem Switch. I had the same problem and put JB Weld all around, let set for 24 hours. Works fine, no leaks. 36.00 at Ford
Triflex is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 01-10-2008, 09:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 517
Thanks: 0
Thanked 3 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stroker444 View Post
On my 96 I have fuel leaking from a sensor on the fuel filter housing. If your looking at the motor its on the top right and its metal with a black plastic top.
The leak filled the intake valley. I called it a fuel pressure sensor but advance auto part had no listing for it.
It is called a Fuel Filter Vacuum Switch.

Last edited by Triflex; 02-20-2008 at 04:15 PM.
Triflex is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 02-29-2008, 09:58 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
After reading all of these threads on this site it is apparent that I have a vacuum switch problem. Only a dealer part??

Does anyone have pics on how to change it. My hands can't fit down inside of the area....do I have to remove all of the turbo equipment?
Aaron Dickinson is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 02-29-2008, 01:55 PM
BIG TRUCK, SMALL DRIVER
 
pipelayerjdh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Iva, SC
Posts: 5,877
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Aaron Dickinson View Post
After reading all of these threads on this site it is apparent that I have a vacuum switch problem. Only a dealer part??

Does anyone have pics on how to change it. My hands can't fit down inside of the area....do I have to remove all of the turbo equipment?
If it's the one I think they are talking about, just remove the engine cover and you should be able to get a wrench on it.

Are ya'll taling about the one with the red wire?


Derrick

My photobucket




'97 F-350 "FORDOR" 4X4 (Dually Conversion, Shackle Reversal, Technicooler , Auto Meter Gauges, 4" DIY Dual Exhaust w/ '08 tips, 4" DIY intake w/ AEM filter, Wicked Wheel 2, 360° thrust bearing, Homemade E-fuel conversion, Wildman Chip, 160cc DIY injectors , DIY IDM mod) 230K and counting...
pipelayerjdh is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 02-29-2008, 04:03 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 58
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the reply
... The switch on mine is much deeper in the valley, I had to remove the stuff coming off of the turbo to get to it. Does anyone know why mine is different? Also is there a diagram for the "stuff" coming off the turbo so I know the names for it next time.

The truck is a 95 super duty crew
Aaron Dickinson is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome