Glow Plug Override? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-03-2008, 08:45 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 717
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Glow Plug Override?

Since my GPR is no longer working and I have to jump the terminals to get my truck to start if I dont plug it in. Could I wire a push button switch under my dash to turn the glow plugs on and then start the engine?

So I figured that my GPR is like this
O
o--o
O

I usually jump the 2 big O's which are the big terminals together and my truck will start so if I run two wires to this switch, 1 from each post. So if I hold the switch for 10 seconds my truck should start???

Will this work. Will it hurt anything? I have a spare push button switch so all I need is wire
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-03-2008, 08:47 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it would have to be one heck of a switch.....i dont know the exact amperage the glow plugs pull...but i would figure it would have to be between 30 and 60 amps... if not more
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-03-2008, 08:49 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 717
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks for the quick reply. I guess I can stick to the ol wire over the terminals. I will just look silly everytime i leave work
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-03-2008, 08:51 PM
Powerstroke Techie


 

Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Huntsville/Arab alabama
Posts: 3,575
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How about spending $30 or so on a new GPR? The switch and wires your talking about would have to be huge. I have heard of a mod to hook a switch to the little wire ground wire to manually disable the GPR in warm weather to try and make it last longer.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-03-2008, 08:54 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 717
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Alrightty I guess im heading to NAPA tomorrow. Thanks for the help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-03-2008, 09:00 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Why not just fix the problem? Mods are one thing, but rigging instead of fixing is another. If you were out in bfe, rigging something is always acceptable...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-03-2008, 09:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 717
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I have been laid off for 3 weeks. My bank account is -253. Thats why I am moving next week to start a new job 400 miles away
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-04-2008, 09:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Ocala, Florida
Posts: 717
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I installed a GPR109 tomorrow we shall see the results
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-05-2008, 09:11 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Graham,N.C.
Posts: 47
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
GOOD LUCK WITH YOUR TRUCK AND YOUR NEW JOB!!!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-09-2008, 12:57 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: alvin Texas
Posts: 6
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
you can use a ford starter switch its about half the price ( i paid $12 for mine at a local parts store called standard) you just have to do a little rewiring. but its not a starter relay its a starter switch they look about the same but they are different the switch has the 2 big wires and 2 little ones but that the end of their similarities the switch has a 12v on one of the little wires and the pcm controls the ground witch is the other little wire. a starter relay has the two big wires but the two little ones work diffrent one is hot all the time and the other is hot when the relay contacts. this one will not work for glow plugs. good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors