obs Speed recalibration module - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 12-28-2007, 08:23 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
strokinford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: va
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
obs Speed recalibration module

i have a 95 psd and with these trucks you can change the calibration of the speedometer. but you can only do it 6 times with out replacing the module. well i need to replace the module.does anyone know , which module it is and where it is. any help with be greatly appreciated. thanks
strokinford is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 12-28-2007, 04:32 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
strokinford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: va
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
bump bump bump
strokinford is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 12-28-2007, 04:53 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
adfields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Palmer Alaska
Posts: 683
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That is a new one for me. Whats it look like and where is it at? I looked on Alldata and cant find a thing! I took every last inch of wire and all the boxes from a 95 4 door PSD. There are just 2 boxes that I'm not 100% sure what all they do but are some how tied to the alarm box and keyless entry box.

ANDY

My baby is a one of a kind.
1977 I bought a new 76 F150 club cab.
Sitting on a 84 F350 6.9 4X4 chassis
With all the drive train and goodies from a 95 4X4 4door PSD.
Nothing stock left on her and not a nut, bolt, hose, or wire on there that I didn't put where it is.

The Wifes Ride:
2002 Excursion Limited 7.3 PSD

Themo King/Mikuni coolant heaters on both to keep things toasty without idling.
adfields is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 12-28-2007, 07:51 PM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
strokinford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: va
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
on the 95 psd e40d tranny. you can recalibrate the speedometer.i copied and pasted this


Recalibrate Your Speedometer After Changing Tire Size

There is no tire size/code chart because tire size vs. actual tire dimensions are different between manufacturers. Even between the same tire size and same maker there will be a difference in actual size between the different tread designs.

The Ford calibration equation is:
20186 / tire height in inches = some number, then: some number /.6666 = program code

Example:
Start with 20186, divide by actual tire size in inches. Divide again by .6666

You want to use a rolling measurement to get your actual tire height (If you try to measure the tire in the driveway, use conversion charts, or anything else you will end up with an inaccurate reading again). Use your rear tire since the sensor is located there. Mark the ground and your tire and roll forward 3 times marking the ground each time. (I ran over a spot of oil at a local gas station and measured between my tread mark prints), then divide that number by three to get the average length of one revolution (this will protect yourself against a bad reading using just one revolution). You can then divide the length of one revolution by 3.14 to get actual tire height. Be careful in your measurements, a small amount will change the code. EX: 31.69" tire height is code 956, and 31.21" tire height is code 970.

Now, to program it into your truck:


Warning: You can only change the calibration 6 times without replacing the module.

To set the calibration, ground the single wire connector under the glove box it says PSOM (Programable Speedometer Opdometer Module). ”Yes there is only one and it has a spade type plug on the end". I used a wire with clips on both ends to ground the plug to a screw under the dash or try a test light and use the clip end to the PSOM and the other jam in a dooe hinge. Now look at your speedometer on the face of your dash while sitting in the drivers seat and there should be a "reset" button and a "select" button. While holding the reset button in on the trip meter, turn the ignition to 'on' while the wire is still grounded. Let go of the reset button. The speedometer display will sweep once and will show a code of some kind then push in again the "reset" button and the existing code will be displayed with RECAL?, mine said 976 RECAL? Now you enter your new code you came up with by dividing the rolling measurement by PI or 3.14 by pushing the "select" button until it gets to the new calibration code number. You may have to push “select” a whole bunch of times until you get to your code. If you turn off the key at this point the original code will not be changed or any of the 6 lives will not be used. To store your new code press “Reset”. Turn off the key. Unplug the ground wire. To check the new calibration, use the mile markers on the interstate. Run an indicated 60 mph and it should take exactly 60 seconds to go 1 mile.



well what im trying to find out is what module do i need to replace so i can recalibrate it again. is it the pcm or somthing else
strokinford is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 12-28-2007, 09:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
adfields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Palmer Alaska
Posts: 683
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well, your not gonna like this. It is the HOLE spedo/odo unit it's self! The hole thing must be replaced with a new one. If you pull the gage cluster it has 3 plugs and the center small one plugs into the PSOM unit inside the gage cluster. And what is even better is ya must have it foe the PCM to work right. I found all kinds of info in Alldata once I did s search for PSOM.


ANDY

My baby is a one of a kind.
1977 I bought a new 76 F150 club cab.
Sitting on a 84 F350 6.9 4X4 chassis
With all the drive train and goodies from a 95 4X4 4door PSD.
Nothing stock left on her and not a nut, bolt, hose, or wire on there that I didn't put where it is.

The Wifes Ride:
2002 Excursion Limited 7.3 PSD

Themo King/Mikuni coolant heaters on both to keep things toasty without idling.
adfields is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 12-28-2007, 09:22 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Cj Ford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 3,202
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via MSN to Cj Ford Send a message via Yahoo to Cj Ford
if the psom from a gas truck will work I think I have a whole dash cluster from my 95 you can have.. I just don't know if you can pull the psom out of mine and put it in yours.. mine was only reprogrammed one time when I went form stock to 37's...


Then I changed dash clusters for one with the factory rpm gauge and I think I have the old one in the attic..

1999 F250 XLT 2WD 7.3, 6 spd, South Bend Con OFE, Detroit Truetrac, Tony Wildman tunes, Autometer Boost&Pyro, AFE Stage II, 4" MBRP Exhaust, 2" Daystars, 17x9 DC1 wheels wrapped in 33x12.50 MTZ's

Chris


Cj Ford is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 12-28-2007, 10:47 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
adfields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Palmer Alaska
Posts: 683
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't see why it would not be the same. I just looked at mine and they have little screws in it so it can be opened up.

ANDY

My baby is a one of a kind.
1977 I bought a new 76 F150 club cab.
Sitting on a 84 F350 6.9 4X4 chassis
With all the drive train and goodies from a 95 4X4 4door PSD.
Nothing stock left on her and not a nut, bolt, hose, or wire on there that I didn't put where it is.

The Wifes Ride:
2002 Excursion Limited 7.3 PSD

Themo King/Mikuni coolant heaters on both to keep things toasty without idling.
adfields is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 12-28-2007, 10:55 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
adfields's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Palmer Alaska
Posts: 683
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cj Ford View Post
if the psom from a gas truck will work I think I have a whole dash cluster from my 95 you can have.. I just don't know if you can pull the psom out of mine and put it in yours.. mine was only reprogrammed one time when I went form stock to 37's...


Then I changed dash clusters for one with the factory rpm gauge and I think I have the old one in the attic..
Hay, I love the hood on your 78/9 F150. Looks sharp, did you build or buy the scoop? To me thats the OBS

ANDY

My baby is a one of a kind.
1977 I bought a new 76 F150 club cab.
Sitting on a 84 F350 6.9 4X4 chassis
With all the drive train and goodies from a 95 4X4 4door PSD.
Nothing stock left on her and not a nut, bolt, hose, or wire on there that I didn't put where it is.

The Wifes Ride:
2002 Excursion Limited 7.3 PSD

Themo King/Mikuni coolant heaters on both to keep things toasty without idling.
adfields is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 12-29-2007, 07:56 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
strokinford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: va
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so if i understand correctly all i have to do is replace the gauge cluster. is that it???? i can get a gauge cluster off ebay for 20 bucks. you said something about foe the pcm... can you explain
strokinford is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 12-29-2007, 08:21 AM Thread Starter
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 
strokinford's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: va
Posts: 138
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok nevermind i thought it was 20 bucks but that was something else. does anyone know where i can get the part i need new???? i appreciate the offer on the used ones, and i may still go that route. but i would like to get a new one or try to get one 1st. thanks
strokinford is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome