1st Powerstroke..lots of problems - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-23-2013, 10:14 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question 1st Powerstroke..lots of problems

Hello from Dayton Ohio! I am new to the forum, the amount of information here is unbelievable but i cant seem to fine exactly what I'm looking for and I'm stumped. I just picked up a 1995 F-350, auto tranny, 2wd crew cab with 247xxx miles on the clock, this is my first diesel btw.

So here is the story.....
Was looking for a good work truck that i can run between Dayton, Columbus and Cincinnati Ohio, 600+ miles a week. By trade i do Commercial HVAC and refrigeration with plans of going into business for myself. I found the F-350 on Craigslist, the guy lives about 40 miles away and he drove to me, I test drove it and everything was good. He brought it back the next day with title, made the purchase and parked it.

Next day....

Got in the truck, started up fine, let it warm up to operating temp, went for a drive and this is what I've encountered.

Transmission:
I never drove above 50 mph, it was city driving and intermittently it wouldn't shift from 1st gear till almost 3K rpm, after letting off the pedal it would shift to 2nd and so on. It would shudder at times and while at 40 mph it would downshift, then slam into O/D while trying to accelerate. Then all of a sudden it would shift fine, like i said intermittent. About 2 miles from my house, the O/D light started flashing non stop, CEL came on and when i came to a stop, it wouldn't take off in 1st gear as if it was in 2nd or 3rd, I tried to manually put into 1st but it was if it was still in 2nd, then all of a sudden a block from my house it went back into 1st after a stop.

Engine Prob 1: