intermittent tach.... but engine runs fine? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 9 Old 08-24-2006, 08:19 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
intermittent tach.... but engine runs fine?

Still sorting this new well-used truck out.

Every so often, the tach quits working when driving. Or it just doesnt work when I fire the truck up. But even if it doesnt work when i fire it up, it normally starts working a few minutes afterwards.

The engine runs fine, no matter what the tach does.

What gives? What sensor does the tach get it's signal from?
beater96PSD is offline  
post #2 of 9 Old 08-24-2006, 08:38 PM
Power Strokeaholic
 
super_stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Clarksville,Ohio
Posts: 1,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the tach gets its signal from the cps. if thats not working then the wont run. but yours runs so im guessing that theres a short in the cluster. whats it do over bumps? is there any consistancy to it?

Bill
2000 f-250 4x4 ex cab 7.3 psd. diablo programmer, TS 6 pos. , 4" exhaust turbo back w/ 5" stacks, wicked wheel, HX cross over, zoodad mod, 6637 mod, boost pyro & trany on the a pilliar. 315/75/16 bfg mt's,.superwinch hub's, 6.0 trans cooler, banks trans command. sky jacker leveling kit


Membership Availible Here!
super_stroke is offline  
post #3 of 9 Old 08-24-2006, 08:52 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, it is definately not related to engine operation. I figure it is a short or something.

As for consistency, none that I can find.

Ive got to pull the dash trim to clean out the lens, so Ill pull the cluster too.

Hopefully it's a simple fix.
beater96PSD is offline  
post #4 of 9 Old 08-24-2006, 08:54 PM
Power Strokeaholic
 
super_stroke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Clarksville,Ohio
Posts: 1,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
good luck to ya, if it's not consistant it probably is a short. check back in the morning cuz im sure marc would have a suggestion or two

Bill
2000 f-250 4x4 ex cab 7.3 psd. diablo programmer, TS 6 pos. , 4" exhaust turbo back w/ 5" stacks, wicked wheel, HX cross over, zoodad mod, 6637 mod, boost pyro & trany on the a pilliar. 315/75/16 bfg mt's,.superwinch hub's, 6.0 trans cooler, banks trans command. sky jacker leveling kit


Membership Availible Here!
super_stroke is offline  
post #5 of 9 Old 08-27-2006, 02:17 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well, story hasnt changed.

I pulled the cluster, cleaned it out, ad cleaned up the contact points between the harness plugs and the cluster. No change.

Strange though, lately, it seems to want to work, but fails to. I can see it moving, but VERY low on the gauge. barely off the low RPM stop.

Could the tach itself be failing?

Thanks for any help

1996 PSD 4x4 "Rancher Special"
beater96PSD is offline  
post #6 of 9 Old 08-27-2006, 02:43 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
honestly you would need to get into some pretty complex electrical testing to know what the problem is for sure, but to me this sounds like the tach itself is going out...
mschn99 is offline  
post #7 of 9 Old 08-27-2006, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well that stinks.

I kinda figured that.

Oh well, it still runs great

Can you swap out individual gauges in the clusters? Or would it be easier just to swap clusters?

1996 PSD 4x4 "Rancher Special"
beater96PSD is offline  
post #8 of 9 Old 08-27-2006, 07:07 PM
Premium Member
 
overl0rd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 607
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I think you can swap individual gauges. Not that it would be easier than swapping clusters but you at least wouldn't have a vehicle with an odometer discrepancy. Plus you'd probably have to recalibrate the PSOM if you swapped clusters.

'96 F250 4x4 Ext Cab, 5 speed. K&N FIPK - modified to use 6637; 3" downpipe, 6" stack; Beans modded IDM; Beans stage 2s; shimmed FPR; exhaust brake; 6 position TS; locked 4.10s
'93 F250 4x4 regular cab long box. 7.3IDI nonturbo/E4OD 8' Western. STAYING STOCK
'65 Pontiac Tempest, 406ci chevy small block, TH350 with shift kit, 2700 stall converter.
'01 HD XL1200S - Lots of Screamin Eagle goodies
'96 Tbird LX V8

Progressive loves me
overl0rd is offline  
post #9 of 9 Old 09-04-2006, 05:48 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
PSOM? What is that?

Thanks for the help BTW. At this point, Im probably just going to go without a tach if it fails alltogether. If it wasnt an auto, Id probably fix it

1996 PSD 4x4 "Rancher Special"
beater96PSD is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome