Remote-start, glow-plugs = problem? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 12 Old 08-24-2006, 05:34 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Remote-start, glow-plugs = problem?

Hey guys.

Im interested in installing a remote start kit on my '96 PSD. But something hit me.... what about the time the glow plugs need to warm up?

Is there a way around this? Does anyone that has installed a kit have any tips?

Thanks for any help
beater96PSD is offline  
post #2 of 12 Old 08-24-2006, 05:44 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by beater96PSD View Post
Hey guys.

Im interested in installing a remote start kit on my '96 PSD. But something hit me.... what about the time the glow plugs need to warm up?

Is there a way around this? Does anyone that has installed a kit have any tips?

Thanks for any help
Ya know, I have wondered abou this as well. But also with mine, I have the 6spd.

Logan is offline  
post #3 of 12 Old 08-24-2006, 05:47 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: central coast, california
Posts: 0
Thanks: 0
Thanked 5 Times in 3 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by brrs3633 View Post
Ya know, I have wondered abou this as well. But also with mine, I have the 6spd.
the six speed is easy to get around, you just put a toggle switch on for the clutch safety switch. At night, turn the switch on, set the e brake, and put the tranny in nuetral. I dont know bout the glow plug part though...
mschn99 is offline  
post #4 of 12 Old 08-24-2006, 05:54 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marc View Post
the six speed is easy to get around, you just put a toggle switch on for the clutch safety switch. At night, turn the switch on, set the e brake, and put the tranny in nuetral. I dont know bout the glow plug part though...
Well that part is not so bad. I still wonder about the other. How about if you pluged your truck up so it stayed warm?

Logan is offline  
post #5 of 12 Old 08-24-2006, 07:36 PM
Member
 
dale3311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 41
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i have remote start on mine and they sell a relay that delays before it starts so the glow plugs have time

2002 F250 4x4:burnout
dale3311 is offline  
post #6 of 12 Old 08-24-2006, 09:17 PM
PIPE HITTER
 
gcop's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Republic of Texas
Posts: 1,472
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dale3311 View Post
i have remote start on mine and they sell a relay that delays before it starts so the glow plugs have time
Yep thats the ticket. DEI makes a digital delay timer, I use one to keep my headlights on after I turn the key off. There are some remote starts/alarms available that have a delay feature built in. In some cases, depending on the install, you can tag the wire for the wait to start light.

On yours it should be a black with pink tracer located in the main harness that runs on the inside of the firewall to the left of the brake pedal, (Marc?) This wire MUST be diode isolated from the instrument cluster to keep the battery from draining. If you want the diode instructions, just PM me.

"Life is hard, it's even harder when you are stupid"
gcop is offline  
post #7 of 12 Old 09-04-2006, 05:51 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 51
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
little update...

after a little searching and shopping, it seems that some remote starts actually have the circuitry for diesels. In the item description they say something like 'diesel option included", or 'works for diesels'.

guess Ill have to buy one sooner or later.

1996 PSD 4x4 "Rancher Special"
beater96PSD is offline  
post #8 of 12 Old 09-04-2006, 06:17 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by dale3311 View Post
i have remote start on mine and they sell a relay that delays before it starts so the glow plugs have time
Do you like it or not worth the extra time and money?

Logan is offline  
post #9 of 12 Old 09-04-2006, 06:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Albie30's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: phx az
Posts: 480
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Albie30 Send a message via Yahoo to Albie30
I have the remote start in my truck and it works great it has a delay that the tech who installed it adjusted the lenght of the delay The only problem I ever have is sometimes when its cold it does not turn over long enough to start

2000 F250 cc 4x4 4" lift BFG 315's,,dp tuner Auto Meter gauges, Hybrid 235cc injectors,TN BB turbo,water meth injection,Ragin intake,ITP boost fooler Banks intercooler,big head wastegate,power elbow,torque converter,6.0 tranny cooler,High flow intakes AIH delete air ride air bags,gibson 4" exhaust,zoodad mod, remote start, Pioneer dvd/ navigation Sirrus radio,sun coast tranny ,Bts valve body,H11 s,Engine rebuild .030 over,Fluid Dampner,203 thermostat

425hp 775 Tq
13.9 @ 95 mph
Albie30 is offline  
post #10 of 12 Old 09-04-2006, 06:40 PM
The Fat Mod
 
Logan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Hickory, NC
Posts: 12,509
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How much and how long was the install?

Logan is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome