changing glow plugs myself, worth it? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-17-2007, 06:41 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
changing glow plugs myself, worth it?

My 95 F350 wont start unless I have it plugged in, even in warmer weather. Everyone tells me its probably bad glow plugs. The silinoid IS giving them juice. It would cost $500 to have them replaced at a shop. I was thinking about trying it myself. Is this pretty simple or is their lots of potential problems? I am a novice mechanic and dont want to get in over my head and have an inoperable truck sitting around because of a mistake.
Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-17-2007, 06:50 AM
Shaking the Bush Boss

its pretty simple.... i'm sure theres a write up on the procedure here somewhere. I bought my gow plugs from autozone. THe valve cvr gaskets are reusable. Be sure to look at the connectors in the gaskets, for any burnt or corroided conntacts.
Old 12-17-2007, 03:54 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

I changed my glow plugs 2 weeks ago on my 99 F250. I hardest part of the job for me was getting to some of the value cover bolts. Needed 1/4 " flex joint and specific length 1/4" extension to get socket on the bolt. Also needed 1/4" 10 MM deep socket for getting the glow plug out.

If its cold in your area, plug the heater in to get the engine warm. Much easier on your hands!

In the process of taking the driver side value cover off, I took off the attached air breather. The 2 air breather o rings (about 1 1/2") must of enlarged over time, could not reuse them, had to purchase new air breather o-rings ($4 at dealer). You should be able to do job with leaving air breather attached to value cover.