Gauge Install - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 01-10-2013, 07:11 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Gauge Install

Okay, I am doing 3 pods this weekend on my truck! I got boost, pyro, tranny. I have the ZF5 now, I know you guys will probably say that was a bad move, but oh well. I am planning on going E4OD soon. My questions are, what is the best spot to tee in the boost gauge? What is the best spot to tee in the pyrometer? And also, does the tranny probe have to be in the tranny fluid to be effective? I am planning on drilling at the PTO cover. Any help/suggestions are much appreciated!


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 01-10-2013, 07:13 AM
Full A-Team Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phillips, WI
Posts: 6,171
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
1. Intake spyder or MAP line
2. Driver side exhaust manifold on flat spot
3. No idea
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-10-2013, 07:58 AM
BANNED by Kris
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5,697
Thanks: 45
Thanked 93 Times in 88 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Shane got this one. On the Tranny temp on the Manual maybe get an adapter and use the drain hole?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-10-2013, 08:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
How do you plan on drilling/tapping the PTO cover without losing a bunch of fluid and getting metal shaving inside your tranny? I'd just leave the tranny guage unhooked until you do the auto swap.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 01-10-2013, 08:52 AM
Full A-Team Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Phillips, WI
Posts: 6,171
Thanks: 1
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Not something I would mess with either but I assume take the cover off then refill with fluid
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:09 AM
Unpremium Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Hootersville, TN
Posts: 666
Thanks: 3
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by superduty4x4 View Post
I'd just leave the tranny guage unhooked until you do the auto swap.
x2. An unmolested ZF-5 is worth some cash.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:28 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Colorado
Posts: 188
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I understand. But does the probe have to be in the fluid to get a reading?


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com Free App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:34 AM
Serving Our Country!


 

Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Everett WA
Posts: 3,635
Thanks: 0
Thanked 10 Times in 8 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via AIM to buckels Send a message via MSN to buckels Send a message via Yahoo to buckels
You dont really need the Tranny temp on a manual. They dont heat up as bad as an auto
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:34 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 3,072
Thanks: 2
Thanked 72 Times in 70 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Yeah, tranny temp is pretty meaningless in a simple oil bath case. The ZF6 is pumped and cooled, so it might warrant a gauge. But +1 on leaving it decommissioned for the time being. At swap time, you'll be trying to sell a tranny with a useless hole in the PTO cover....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 01-10-2013, 09:37 AM
BANNED by Kris
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Pasadena, CA
Posts: 5,697
Thanks: 45
Thanked 93 Times in 88 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95Strokeee View Post
I understand. But does the probe have to be in the fluid to get a reading?
To answer the question, yes the probe needs to be in the oil for the truest reading. The "air" inside of the case is not the same temp as the fluid.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors