New torque converter not studded?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-31-2012, 05:44 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New torque converter not studded??

Hey guys, need a quick answer here...I'm swapping in a 4r100 in place of my dead E4OD. However, the torque converter that came with the 4R is not studded, instead has threaded holes for bolts. Can I just get some like grade 8 bolts and bolt it up that way, or do I need to find studs and use nuts like the stock E4OD is setup. And if I can use bolts, should I use lock washers or something with them? Here's a pic of the new converter. New torque converter not studded??-imageuploadedbyautoguide1357008225.445570.jpg


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-31-2012, 06:01 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: central texas
Posts: 402
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I know the humvees I worked on used bolts. I'd use some flanged bolts in the strongest variety you can find.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 01-01-2013, 06:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: MILLVILLE UTAH
Posts: 413
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Go to the ford dealer and get new torque converter bolts. That way you get the right thing
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 01-01-2013, 07:59 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Denver
Posts: 44
Thanks: 0
Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Thanks guys. Yeah was planning to see what Ford has for them because I have to go there anyway to get the flange gasket where the transfer case bolts on. None of the regular parts suppliers like advance auto or autozone seem to carry it.


Sent from my iPhone using AutoGuide.com App
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 08:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors