New member with 7.3 problem - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-23-2012, 10:55 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New member with 7.3 problem

I am a new owner of a 95 f250 7.3l. I bought the truck and it ran great on the two hour drive home. Now the truck has a rough idle and it sputters when it shifts into overdrive. Things I have done so far- changed fuel filter, oil change 15w40, cheched under one valve cover for loose injector wiring connections. Didn't have the chance to check under the other one. I did notice that the pedestal o-rings need to be changed but I'm not sure if that would cause rough ideling or surge at overdrive. There are no codes, no fuel leaks, and as far as I can tell no boost leaks. Any help would be appreciated. I am new to working on diesels.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-23-2012, 11:29 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

you should really find a scanner to hook up and watch what its doing specifically the injection control pressure and the ipr valve percentage ipr was out in my ipr didn't run worth a crap and no power new valve all is good. i would also check the fuel pressure if its way low could cause it to not run correctly
Old 12-23-2012, 11:41 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Is there a special scanner that needs to be used? im not sure if it is a fuel problem or tranny problem since it is happening in overdrive. Another thing when I switch to the rear tank the truck loses power and dies.
Old 12-25-2012, 10:48 AM
Compression Ignition Addict