Talk Me Out Of It - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2012, 07:19 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Talk Me Out Of It

I have the opportunity to buy a 4x4 96 F250 ccsb powerstroke for $500. It was last lisenced in 06 and it has sat since. the intake tubing running from the air filter to the turbo was removed for some reason and the turbo siezed.. no big deal it comes with a spare. it will need all new components on the front of the engine ac compressor ps pump alt tensioner and idlers. what do i need to do to get this thing running? what do i need to be worried about seeing as how it sat for 6 years? im new to diesels but am not new to wrenching. As for the parts cost im not to worried i work for a NAPA and get stuff for cost. any advice, pointers, or words of wisdom are appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-15-2012, 07:30 PM
the baconator

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
why haven't you bought it yet. i would look into JY parts for the accessories, why do you think it needs them? as for getting it running make sure you have fresh fuel, oil, and batteries. and you'll need to do something about the turbo
Old 11-15-2012, 07:38 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

the belt is off and i spun the components the vaccum pump and the water pump are the only 2 that didnt make a terrible noise i will have to put the new used turbo on but im just trying to find out some of the hidden costs before i jump into it.
Old 11-15-2012, 07:51 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

These trucks are worth more than $500 melted down for scrap.
BUY IT!
As far as getting it running, all new fluid/filters. This means coolant, oil, and fuel. To get it drive-able, I would also do diffs, transmission fluid, and give the brake system an overhaul.