HELP!! 96 7.3 won't start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-10-2012, 01:37 PM

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
HELP!! 96 7.3 won't start

I changed all the hoses on the fuel filter housing to the fuel lift pump today , and had the filter housing completely off the truck. While in there i noticed the wiring coming off the housing (red and white wire) were melted together and frayed at the connector. I need to know what these wires are for?? It looks like they plug into the back of the hpop?? Also I went to start my truck and it just cranks over, the tach moves up to 1000 rpms or so , so I don't think its the cps. The #22 fuse isn't blown either. I can spray starting fluid into the intake and it attempts to start but still no go. PLEASE help this is my daily driver and i need it running!! I am new to diesels and don't know anything about them. Also the filter housing is about 3/4 way full .
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-10-2012, 01:53 PM
Hee Hee, he's doing it...

First do not use any combustable fluid with the GPR still working. The IPR (attached to the HPOP) is red on one side and yellow w/red stripe on the other side. If these wires aren't in order you won't build enough hydraulic pressure to fire an injector. Cut out the bad connector and wiring and hit a napa. They stock most connectors though the wire colors are usually wrong (not that it matters right now. SOLDER the new wires in.
Old 11-10-2012, 04:47 PM