new to the 7.3 - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-22-2012, 01:27 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
new to the 7.3

im new to diesel and been asking friends about the 7.3 and getting different things. but i rather hear it from you guys what do you think of this truck im looking at lifted 1997 powerstroke

i know to do the oil pan engine needs to come out but its not leaking that that bad. and door handles 4x4 link i can do. but what do yall overall think? thanks chris
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 10-22-2012, 03:29 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Doesn't look like to bad of a deal. A couple of things, these engines use a sealant for the oil pan gasket and they seldom leak from there, the leak usually comes from the rear main seal, rusted out pan, oil cooler o-rings, turbo pedestal o-rings and runs down the back of the block, or the dipstick tube where it enters the pan. If it is the oil pan sealant/gasket the engine needs to come out of the truck to fix. The intercooler, D66, trans, etc where all expensive upgrade's so that is good. I would inspect the impeller on the air inlet side of the turbo because of that really crappy K&N air filter that is on there.

Last edited by 1Dieselman; 10-22-2012 at 03:33 PM.
Old 10-22-2012, 03:57 PM
the baconator

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
i agree with jack not a bad deal though i wouldn't call a lift good (personal opinion) it adds unneeded stress. also the upgrades need to be done well without shortcuts or they can be headaches. but the motors are dependable, and easy to work on and this is a great site with lots of knowledge. take it for a ride and report back. make sure you get to start it cold.
Old 10-22-2012, 04:56 PM