Need help locating a short to ground. Electrical guys please read - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-14-2012, 10:12 AM
...kind of looks homeless

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Need help locating a short to ground. Electrical guys please read

Hey guys. 96 CCLB 4wd E4OD, Intake, gauges.

Few weeks back replaced the fuel lines coming off the fuel bowl. When I went to hook the batteries back up and crank I got white smoke billowing up from behind the dash. Found out that a diode in my Wait to Start light module-thing had fried and was smoking at the circuit board. Now after I crank my truck and pull the key, my abs light and charging system light are both still dimly lit.

Can somebody please school me up on how the heck to find where my electrical problem is? I have limited knowledge of electrical systems and diagnosis but I'm a quick study. I need this truck up and running like yesterday. Please give me a hand here!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 04-14-2012, 10:58 AM

Ok guys. Took out the multimeter and checked all my fuses with the key pulled. None should have any power whatsoever, right? Didn't find any in the in-cab fuse panel. In the underhood power distribution box, though, 20A Maxi Fuse #9 (listed as Powertrain Control System) is showing a reading. It's only showing a tiny amount (I'm not great at reading multimeters; set at 200m on the DCV range I'm showing about .7)
Now I'm assuming this circuit is my PCM circuit, so why is the PCM pulling voltage? How can I locate the source?
Old 04-14-2012, 11:14 AM
PMR = JUNK

Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Jake Send a message via Yahoo to Jake