OBD1 to OBD2 Conversion? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-13-2012, 11:58 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
OBD1 to OBD2 Conversion?

Had codes pop up now and then and went to autozone to see what they were, plugged it in, nothing, so my guess is that it is in that category of it has the OBD2 connector but is running a ODB1 system?? Can i just go to the dealership and have them flash it to OBD2?? I'm thinking about getting a PHP chip soon would this affect the chip ordeal at all??
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-13-2012, 12:05 PM
CSP Resident Spooby


 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 6,826
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
If you have a '96, you should have OBDII. Unless some of the real early model 96's still had OBDI. These OBS trucks are very picky about scanners. I took my to autozone as well to scan for codes once, and as soon as they hit Enter on the scanner, my truck died. Tried it again, same result.

Get your hands on a good, quality scanner and try again.

As far as the chip, it shouldn't effect anything. The chip plugs into the end of the PCM. I have a PHP chip in my truck and absolutely love it!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-13-2012, 12:07 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ya maybe i can take it to the mechanic i know he has the whole set up, my concern is will having obd1 mess with the chip and will putting the chip in before erasing the codes mess with anything?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-13-2012, 12:09 PM
CSP Resident Spooby


 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 6,826
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm not entirely sure, my truck has never thrown any codes in the two years I have owned it. The CEL came on once, but it was just from the TPS being momentarily upset by some very heavy hammering on the underside of the truck from when I installed my D60. What's the build date on your truck?

And I guess that really narrows down the what the code is for...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-13-2012, 12:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
my tps was acting up a while back, went to napa and they gave me a tps that was supposed to be in my truck, the one that is actually in it now, matched their gasser tps. lately its been throwing one on and off at start up. build date is march 96
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-13-2012, 12:40 PM
CSP Resident Spooby


 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 6,826
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
That probably doesn't help matters. I tried going to Ford seeing how much the new pedal assembly cost, because I was told the sensor was not replaceable. They wanted like 500 bucks for it

I would imagine it would be OBDII by that point. Is the truck doing anything out of the ordinary?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-13-2012, 01:00 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Tehachapi, CA
Posts: 1,825
Thanks: 0
Thanked 43 Times in 43 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
You need to use a scanner with the Ford Enhanced parameter set (AutoZone units will not work). 1996 will already be "OBDII" (but not really due to the extra parameters needed). No need to get it reflashed. Cheers!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-13-2012, 01:21 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
No truck runs great! just wanna see codes to keep it that way. i will see if a can find someone with the ford enhanced parameter. thanks for the info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-13-2012, 01:47 PM
CSP Resident Spooby


 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Loveland, CO
Posts: 6,826
Thanks: 0
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I don't know why, but these old dogs don't like cheap scanners

Did the CEL start coming on after you put the new sensor in by chance?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-13-2012, 01:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
it was before and after so i dont think that is causing the CEL but idk haha
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors