460 to 7.3 powerstroke - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-08-2012, 08:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
460 to 7.3 powerstroke

Hey everyone my name is mike im new here. Im a deisel mechanic by trade mostly durriving Cat and cummins engines in our trucks with a few DT444 internationals under my belt. Anyway i have a new project about to go underway and desperatly seek some wisdom from those who have attemted this. HERE WE GO:
I have a sweet 1996 F250HD with a gas 460 and a ZF5 speed. Now i have a 1994 dually with a powerstroke and im going to do an engine swap. The electronics look to be plug and play but thats most likely not the case. My questions ae will the powerstroke bolt to the ZF5 bigblock or do i have to drill out some holes? Also what flywheel and clutch should i purchase. Also what wiring feats will i encounter? Is it best to change out EVERYTHING? or does just a few things need to be tampered with like gauges, tach, etc. I have a doner truck so parts arnt a issue. Im guessing engine, motor mounts, clutch, adapter plate if necessary, flywheel, fuel tanks swap??? wiring, radiator, any advice? I have some time to do it not a ton but some. Thanks a lot pics will be posted as progress goes underway.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-08-2012, 08:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

The truck the stroker is going in is a 4wd with a 4" lift by the way with twin traction beam.
Old 03-08-2012, 09:17 PM
DERAIL MOD!!!

Feedback Score: 4 reviews
most all the wiring is different, the diesel has a pcm as well that needs to be swapped in, if your good just swap tail shafts on the tranny's and boom, you got 4x4
Old 03-09-2012, 05:43 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

ANY HELP before i dive in?
Old 03-09-2012, 09:36 AM
Compression Ignition Addict