newbie with a couple of question - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-29-2012, 04:53 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
newbie with a couple of question

Hey everyone I'm looking to get rid of my 1999 f-150 lariat 4x4
the truck run's good but the flareside is useless and the local dmv (called the SAAQ up here) is charging double because it's got a ''big engine''

the law is the following : any vehicule 1995 and up over 4.0L is charge 30$ more + 10$ every 0.1 L
so to lower the cost of owner ship i'm looking to buy a 1994 f-250 or 350 4x4 with a power stroke, automatic and a 8 foot bed ! the cab can range from single to 4 doors dosen't matter !

I'm an experience auto mechanic (working at a Subaru dealer ), I have good knowledge of a gas engine and how to repair them, but I never learn or needed to repair a diesel !

first question : is the 1994 7.3 power stroke any good and reliable ?(I know, stupid question on a powerstroke forum !)

second question: what are the trouble spot that I should be looking on a diesel ?

third question: is the 1994 tuner friendly since it isn't obd-2 ? who makes power parts ?

fourth question: what are the diagnostic procedure ? is it like my old ranger that you jump a wire on the diag. connector and plug a needle voltmeter to extract codes ?

fifth question: is there any question that I should be asking ??

I would also like to find good internet literature about diesel engine and powerstroke info !

sorry for my bad english I usally talk french

here some picture off my current rig

Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 01-29-2012, 05:19 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

so $360 plus to register a PSD if it's 1995 or newer?