help: tranny temp sensor?? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 12-22-2011, 07:53 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
help: tranny temp sensor??

so i got my gauges from Glowshift the other day had some time to check it out and im confused with the transmission temp sensor, says 'Test port'. was conflicted on where Exactly. i have a '97 f-250 with 4:10, 5 speed manual.

any1 have a picture or something?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 12-23-2011, 01:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The great state of Warshington
Posts: 889
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
A tranny temp guage isn't really necessary with a zf-5. An automatic transmission is where it's more usefull.
I'm guessing you got a three guage pod with boost, egt and tranny temp? IMO you'd be better off runing boost, egt and fuel pressure or oil pressure.

Last edited by backwoodsboy; 12-23-2011 at 12:48 PM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 12-23-2011, 11:03 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah i got the 3 gauge pod. i was looking at it like this. if i did oil pressure id be reading he low pressure oil pump. and that good in all but, that doesn't really mean much besides it feeding oil to the HPOP. and i didn't see a gauge for the HPOP so i kinda skiped oil pressure from there.

as for fuel pressure, i read some where that the pressure is always fluctuating, and that the pressure is somewhere between 50 and 100 psi. so i kinda thought if i had a fuel pressure problem it would be somewhat easier to deal with.

as for the transmission, i really don't know much about 'em so i kinda found out that it would be a good idea. not until after i put the order in did i hear that it's not really necessary. so i figure i got it now and don't have money to swap it out so might as well use it... oops.

Last edited by deselpowered; 12-23-2011 at 11:06 AM. Reason: issues with the "t" key on the keyboard
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 12-23-2011, 11:10 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,952
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
If your manual trans has the plate for installing the PTO just pull the plate drill and tap a hole in it. I did that on my old truck. The plate isn't real thick but it's not like it has to have a lot of threads to hold against any kind of pressure. On the auto trans the test port is on the drivers side of the trans just above the oil pan flange.

Last edited by Term3; 12-23-2011 at 11:14 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 12-23-2011, 11:32 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Term3 View Post
If your manual trans has the plate for installing the PTO just pull the plate drill and tap a hole in it. I did that on my old truck. The plate isn't real thick but it's not like it has to have a lot of threads to hold against any kind of pressure. On the auto trans the test port is on the drivers side of the trans just above the oil pan flange.
are you talking about the flat plates on the side of the tranny? i was told they where called inspection plates.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 12-23-2011, 12:52 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: The great state of Warshington
Posts: 889
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by deselpowered View Post
yeah i got the 3 gauge pod. i was looking at it like this. if i did oil pressure id be reading he low pressure oil pump. and that good in all but, that doesn't really mean much besides it feeding oil to the HPOP. and i didn't see a gauge for the HPOP so i kinda skiped oil pressure from there.

as for fuel pressure, i read some where that the pressure is always fluctuating, and that the pressure is somewhere between 50 and 100 psi. so i kinda thought if i had a fuel pressure problem it would be somewhat easier to deal with.

as for the transmission, i really don't know much about 'em so i kinda found out that it would be a good idea. not until after i put the order in did i hear that it's not really necessary. so i figure i got it now and don't have money to swap it out so might as well use it... oops.
Yeah man I understand. Running a tranny temp guage in a manual definitly won't hurt.
Just for future reference, how much did the three guage pillar pod run you? I'm running two guages right now (EGT and tranny temp), but when I do injectors I'll throw a boost guage on the truck so I'll need a bigger pod.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 12-23-2011, 01:19 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
The pod + 3 gauges and the wiring kit was 210 dollars, free shipping
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 12-23-2011, 01:44 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Edmonton, Alberta Canada
Posts: 3,952
Thanks: 0
Thanked 33 Times in 31 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by deselpowered View Post
are you talking about the flat plates on the side of the tranny? i was told they where called inspection plates.
Those are the ones.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-23-2011, 01:50 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
Posts: 54
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Term3 View Post
Those are the ones.
so, you drain the tranny, and then drilled. or removed the plate. if drain, i fill back up with any ATF or Motorcraft ATF.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-23-2011, 03:10 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 3,140
Thanks: 3
Thanked 75 Times in 72 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Synthetic ATF.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 04:39 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors