Bent Idler Pulley? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-21-2011, 09:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Brake Vacuum Pulley? HELP

Well, managed the blow up my serpentine belt on the way home from work tonight. Limped the truck home (about 5 miles) without brakes or power steering. Kept a close eye on the engine temp, and luckily it was cold outside as I didn't even come close to overheating. Popped the hood and got the belt untangled from the radiator fan and water-pump. No damage there.
Upon furthe inspection I realized the upper idler pulley (between AC and power steering) was bent so badly that it was wedged against the engine block and unable to turn.
What am I looking at as far as repairs? I'm relatively new to the PSD, so I'm unsure whether I just shot a bearing, or if it's possible the shaft that the pulley rides on itself is bent. I'll post pictures in the AM, and will probably know more once I've removed the pulley. I don't feel like working on the truck without good lighting in 20degree weather.

Last edited by backwoodsboy; 12-22-2011 at 11:24 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 12-22-2011, 11:27 AM

Turns out my assumption last night was wrong. After looking at the belt diagram closer, it seems that I've actually shot a bearing, or bent the shaft on my brake vacuum pump.
The pulley itself is smooth, not ribbed, which led me to believe it was an idler pulley.
Any advice? Am I looking at a new vacuum pump ($$) or can i replace the pulley itself?
Old 12-22-2011, 11:40 AM
DERAIL MOD!!!

Feedback Score: 4 reviews
New pump, its only 3 10 mm bolts holding it in, mine seized a while ago, pretty easy fix actually.
Old 12-22-2011, 11:52 AM