96 F250 7.3- What to look for? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-04-2011, 04:51 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
96 F250 7.3- What to look for?

Hi all. I'm looking at buying a friend's 1996 F250 XLT Extended Cab Long Box 4x4 with a 7.3 Powerstroke and (probably the best part) a 5 speed manual. Its got 152k miles on it, its in great shape and he wants $6000 for it, I think thats a good deal. I'm gonna go look at it tomorrow and I'm just wondering what should I look for on these trucks? Things that commonly go wrong, how certain things should function, etc. I plan on looking the truck over really good from front to back. Not sure if I'll be able to drive it but I'll see. In case I do, what should I look for while driving? Engine, Trans, Steering, etc. I'm new to these trucks so I'd like to know all about them to make sure I'd be getting a good truck. $6000 is a good chunk of change.

Any info is greatly appreciated.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 11-04-2011, 06:37 PM
Electrical Ogre

Feedback Score: 1 reviews
As far as the transmission, find out if it has had any work done. Synchros seem to go out on them.
Old 11-07-2011, 05:15 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie