Boost gauge reference location - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 16 Old 10-07-2011, 05:28 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 246
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Boost gauge reference location

Hi all I was wondering where do most people reference the boost gauge from? I have mine teed off from the map but keep getting weird boost signals (gauges is jumpy). Thanks in advance.
Turbo_pace is offline  
post #2 of 16 Old 10-07-2011, 05:51 PM
Delivers Pizzas For Fun!
 
ol_Blue97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cecil county MD
Posts: 6,024
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i belive most guys are tapping a fitting directly into the spyder.... what brand gauges?

FRANK THE TANK
DIY INTAKE - HYDRA CHIP - MARTY'S E-FUEL - 250/200s
05 AXLE SWAP 3.73 - 2.5" PURE PERF. LIFT COILS - FOX SHOCKS
BTS TRANS - TYMAR DOWN PIPE - 4" EXHAUST
Waiting To Be Installed... gtx4294r, studs, springs, HPOP?
Quote:
Originally Posted by STROKED_NY_023 View Post
You are so smart Frank, I dont care what Terry says.
ol_Blue97 is offline  
post #3 of 16 Old 10-07-2011, 05:58 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 246
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
It's an autometer carbon fiber 35 psi gauge, I think I'm just gonna drill and tap the compressor housing like I did on my mustang.
Turbo_pace is offline  
post #4 of 16 Old 10-07-2011, 06:01 PM
Delivers Pizzas For Fun!
 
ol_Blue97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: cecil county MD
Posts: 6,024
Thanks: 1
Thanked 18 Times in 16 Posts
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i belive many people have had jumpy reading with autometers when they T them in... i say drill and tap away. not sure about in the compressor housing but i guess you cant get the reading any closer to the turbo than that

FRANK THE TANK
DIY INTAKE - HYDRA CHIP - MARTY'S E-FUEL - 250/200s
05 AXLE SWAP 3.73 - 2.5" PURE PERF. LIFT COILS - FOX SHOCKS
BTS TRANS - TYMAR DOWN PIPE - 4" EXHAUST
Waiting To Be Installed... gtx4294r, studs, springs, HPOP?
Quote:
Originally Posted by STROKED_NY_023 View Post
You are so smart Frank, I dont care what Terry says.
ol_Blue97 is offline  
post #5 of 16 Old 10-07-2011, 06:24 PM
DERAIL MOD!!!


 
351fifty's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canton and kennesaw
Posts: 23,180
Thanks: 34
Thanked 207 Times in 195 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
Mine is tee'd in the map line and works fine, only time it's close to jumpy is when I'm hitting 20+ psi, but I have heard if you call autometer they will buffer it a bit for free to get that out I have the z series in my rig, gonna move it to the spider eventually when I intercool my rig

-Kris-
2000 excursion V10 2wd 230k
2000 Excursion 7.3 4x4 246k
1995 CCLB DRW 324K
2001 CCLB DRW 319K
Dp tuner infinity, exhaust, intake, chipped, tricked, and wrecked


Quote:
Originally Posted by marine5811
The stock downpipe in an OBS is flat because I'm a ginger.
Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3
Finding a decent woman is like shopping for a used truck. You spend most of your time picking through the money pits, wrecks, and basket cases until you find one that you can tolerate
Quote:
Originally Posted by JJFLASH
Well at least you caught the loose bolts before they cause any damage. Nothing worse than a sloppy hole
351fifty is offline  
post #6 of 16 Old 10-07-2011, 09:40 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
08spartan250's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Texas Panhandle
Posts: 5,445
Thanks: 0
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
thats where i have mine and i don't have any problems. its smooth up to over 35. maybe you have a loose fitting in it somewhere?

-Mike

2005 F-250 Lariat

Quote:
Originally Posted by azkcr View Post
And you didn't know Cummins can manage 127mpg??? They also deliver babies, go to Mars, and cure AIDS. DUH
08spartan250 is offline  
post #7 of 16 Old 10-07-2011, 09:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
late_99_PSD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Taneytown, Maryland
Posts: 3,293
Thanks: 2
Thanked 11 Times in 11 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Some people have this problem when they are "t'ed" into the MAP line. Moving it to the "y" pipe or the discharge of the compressor housing should solve it.

Allen
1999.5 F-350 7.3, six-speed

late_99_PSD is offline  
post #8 of 16 Old 10-08-2011, 12:35 AM
Serving Our Country!
 
JSchuricht's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Manor, TX
Posts: 2,973
Thanks: 0
Thanked 25 Times in 24 Posts
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Had that issue on my OBS. Filled the end of the T in the MAP line that connects to the gauge with epoxy and drilled a really small hole in it, think it was a #60 bit.

JSchuricht is offline  
post #9 of 16 Old 10-08-2011, 02:30 PM
Member
 
bfever74's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Dallas/Ft Worth
Posts: 83
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I'm Tee'd into the MAP line, and get smooth movement. But my truck tops out at 13 psi. I did notice during installation that it is pretty easy to kink the line when threading it from the gauge, through the instrument panel and out the firewall. Just something to think about. And I have the el cheapo Glowshift gauges that all the rich guys on here say to never use.

1996 F250 PSD 4x4
X-Cab XLT 4.10's
DIY 6637 - MBRP DP - 240k

2008 F250 PSD 2wd
X-cab XLT
Bone Stock 225k
bfever74 is offline  
post #10 of 16 Old 10-08-2011, 03:06 PM Thread Starter
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 246
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well I drilled and tapped the y that comes of the turbo and go to the engine and that fixed my problem, and ya my truck hits about 15psi max. What is the flange on the turbo? Is it a t3 flange or a t4 flange? Thanks.
Turbo_pace is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome