Attention all 5 speed AIC/APCM users - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-25-2011, 02:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Attention all 5 speed AIC/APCM users

The other night I installed the AIC I've had for a while now in my 97. My last 2 trucks were autos and I had no problems being able to see the AIC from the driver's seat. The new truck is a 5 speed and its hard to see the unit, especially when in high gear. Just curious if anyone has mounted theirs in some location other than the factory one, and if you have a pic of where/how you mounted it.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 05-25-2011, 09:05 PM
Electrical Ogre
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 11,501
Thanks: 29
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
I usually don't pay too much attention to it when I'm driving down the road. If I do look at it, I have to lean over to see past the shift lever.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 05-26-2011, 06:55 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I didn't realize your white truck was a 5 speed Bill
My next goal in life is to figure out a way to trick the AIC into thinking I have an auto so I can use the automatic charge protect option.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 05-26-2011, 07:01 AM
Shade tree mechanic


 

Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Lake Tapps, Wa.
Posts: 8,286
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by superduty4x4 View Post
I didn't realize your white truck was a 5 speed Bill
My next goal in life is to figure out a way to trick the AIC into thinking I have an auto so I can use the automatic charge protect option.
It doesnt work if you put it in neutral and set the ebrake?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 05-26-2011, 08:38 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by 95dieselsmoke View Post
It doesnt work if you put it in neutral and set the ebrake?
Nope, the automatic charge protect only works on auto trans trucks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 05-26-2011, 03:09 PM
Electrical Ogre
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 11,501
Thanks: 29
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
IIRC the auto RPM is the same way, auto trans only.
I'm not sure, but it probably gets data from the communication lines to tell it whether the truck is auto or standard, so you'd probably need some funky burned chip if you really wanted it to work.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 05-26-2011, 03:18 PM
Can you hear the derail??

 

Join Date: May 2011
Location: Canton and kennesaw
Posts: 20,132
Thanks: 6
Thanked 94 Times in 87 Posts
Feedback Score: 4 reviews
what is an AIC/APCM?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 05-26-2011, 03:21 PM
Electrical Ogre
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 11,501
Thanks: 29
Thanked 47 Times in 44 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Auxiliary idle control/auxiliary powertrain control module

A little black box below the dash that allows you to rev up the motor for boosting and PTO applications.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 05-26-2011, 03:48 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3 View Post
IIRC the auto RPM is the same way, auto trans only.
I'm not sure, but it probably gets data from the communication lines to tell it whether the truck is auto or standard, so you'd probably need some funky burned chip if you really wanted it to work.
I was thinking it was probably some sensor some place. I loved being able to flip my switch and have the high idle kick on... guess I'll have to get a high idle tune this go-round and probably just ditch the AIC.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 12:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors