Bought my first powerstroke - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-07-2011, 09:06 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bought my first powerstroke

I purchased my first psd in October. Its a 97 f-350 reg cab 5 speed drw. I had a couple failures from the start. The throw out bearing failed first time I hooked a trailer to it. Then water pump vac pump the the fuel heater failed and blew a fuse. I wire police cars and repair small engines for the town I live in so I am a mechanic but I always stayed away from our trucks at work. I bought the truck to pull a Suzuki samurai rock buggy so it's a bit of an over kill but I have found these trucks are amazing to drive and work on. I was pissed that I had failures and I was getting poor mpg at first then I remembered it's 13 years old and has 120,000 miles things will fail. I have learned how to drive the truck and I'm getting 18-19 mpg now in my city driving to work. These trucks are a blast to drive and this is a great site hands down. I spend hours at a time on this forum and my roomates call me a nerd haha. I do need a little help. I would like to help the towing mpg. The mods on the truck are Donaldson filter no airbox no cat or muffler and a veg power veg oil kit. It has a 4.11 gear and on the interstate I just don't like the rpm to be so high. 80 mph at almost 3000 rpm blasts just bother me. Im afraid a 3.55 will kill my around town mpg. Thanks for everyone who posts and I'm gonna try to help when ever I can help someone else on here. Let me know what y'all think.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 05-07-2011, 09:16 PM
Viking Heavy Diesel

Feedback Score: 1 reviews