DP Tuner Install, WONT START - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 04-21-2011, 12:48 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
DP Tuner Install, WONT START

Today I installed my DP tuner and followed the directions from the site step by step. After the install the truck would not start, nor did the switcher display anything. The directions said if it does not start to remove it and re-clean the terminals. So that's what I did but now I am worried too much copper is showing on the one side and I don't want to take anymore off the other side. I put it back together and tried again with no luck. So I took it back apart and left it out and the truck starts up fine so I didn't fry my PCM. Has anyone had this issue? If too much copper is showing is there anything I can do to help it make better contact? I tried to call them but I don't think anyone will be in untill Monday.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 04-21-2011, 12:49 PM
riddin' high
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: gastonia NC
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Dasaliac03 Send a message via Skype™ to Dasaliac03
pull it back off and make sure your connections are clean.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 04-21-2011, 12:49 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
P.S. My 0 position is the No Start setting but like I said the switch does not light up to see what position I'm in.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 04-21-2011, 12:50 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
They're pretty darn clean, I'm worried about there being too much copper exposed.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 04-21-2011, 12:50 PM
riddin' high
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: gastonia NC
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Dasaliac03 Send a message via Skype™ to Dasaliac03
take some laquor thinner or some fingfer nail polish remover, and wipe the terminals down REAL GOOD.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 04-21-2011, 12:50 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,574
Thanks: 5
Thanked 101 Times in 96 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
You need to make sure the copper is showing on both sides and the contacts are extremely clean. Just don't break through the copper contacts when cleaning. If it starts with no chip, and won't start with the chip, it's a contact issue unless the PCM code is wron on the chip.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 04-21-2011, 12:51 PM
riddin' high
 

Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: gastonia NC
Posts: 2,880
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Send a message via AIM to Dasaliac03 Send a message via Skype™ to Dasaliac03
maybe the line going from your switchers to the chip isnt connecting good.

Strictly Diesel, Diesel Vehicle Repair and Maintenance has a help line and the guy is usually on there if you want to give him a shout and ask
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 04-21-2011, 12:55 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Ok I'll try to clean it again and give that guy a shout if I can't get it. What do you mean by "don't break through the copper contacts?" Sorry if I sound dumb.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 04-21-2011, 01:01 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,574
Thanks: 5
Thanked 101 Times in 96 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie01 View Post
Ok I'll try to clean it again and give that guy a shout if I can't get it. What do you mean by "don't break through the copper contacts?" Sorry if I sound dumb.
Clean it good enough that the copper is showing really good but don't rub the contacts hard enough that you rub through them. Trust me, it's possible and easy to do.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 04-21-2011, 06:18 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 59
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Well stupid me had the wire upside down going into the switch. I have high idle, stock, 80hp econo, 120 race and 40hp tow. Will the idle change at all between the 80hp econo, 120 race and 40 hp tow tunes? It obviously changes between high idle, stock and 80 hp econo but not after, is that normal?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors