truck surges when cold? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-20-2011, 06:13 PM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
truck surges when cold?

lookin at an OBS powerstroke, the owner said it surges when its cold, i dont know what that is, maybe a turbo problem, im new with strokes, and i heard it could be the EBPV cycling, what is that? and what damage could it do if i drive it as is
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 03-21-2011, 04:38 AM

If not plugged in it's probably 'loping' and this is relatively normal with these old girls...the colder it is out there the more pronounced it is until it warms up a bit. I know mine sure does it but it's harmless.
Old 03-23-2011, 06:31 AM

ipr valve icp and uvch can cause that prob happened to my truck b4 easy fix though
Old 03-23-2011, 07:17 AM

could be either. but im betting on the loping. fresh oil change and or lighter weight oil in cold season may solve that. probably not injectors stiction, but if it is many use rev-x to clear that up. but thats usually more of a 6.0 thing.
Old 03-23-2011, 10:32 AM

well, can i drive it if it surges what will i experience bein the driver? never had this happen befor and im goin to test drive it tomorrow.
Old 03-23-2011, 10:38 AM

any way to get a vid of the surge? be sure to do a cold start. if you start it shortly after its been running it wont surge. and wont giev you an idea how easy it starts in the cold.

yes you can drive it. its generally a good idea to let it warm up a couple minutes first. 4 or 5 minutes if its under 20* imho. take note of how long it surges.

here is an example of a cold start lope...

Old 03-23-2011, 11:16 AM