New to the diesel world and i have a 7.3L - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-22-2011, 10:01 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
New to the diesel world and i have a 7.3L

i have bought a 1997 ford f-250 7.3L powerstroke with 300k almost a year ago it runs like a champ and has pulled anything i hooked up to it. This is my first Ford and my first diesel it is hard to start when cold unless i have it plugged in over night so i suspect the glow plugs are old and not working. i have never worked on a diesel before, i know the ins and outs of a chevy gas engine. i have tons of questions which i am sure i will figure out as i go along. but is it worth doing mods to a 300k motor,should i refresh the top end like lifters and push rods and injector seals and glow plugs. i'm the kind of guy who can't leave stuff stock if i can't modify it i don't want it. let me know your input. i have read a lot of your inputs and you all seem very helpful
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-22-2011, 10:25 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

your in the right place for mod addictions!

here is my opinion on modding at 300k+. get a compression test, a great time to do this is during the glow replacement. also check your trubo for compressor fin damage and shaft play.

after that, if compression checks good, then you are generally good to go modding. do the DIY 6637 intake upgrade and exhaust, get rid of that flat down pipe if you havent alerady. then pick up a set of gauges and a chip. by the time your done with all that youll have read enough to know what to do if you want more power.

IMHO these are less complicated than gassers. once you get to know them that is.