CB= Too Much Draw For Batteries??? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:39 AM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
CB= Too Much Draw For Batteries???

I just finished installing my Cobra 29 on my truck & now I've got some sort of a surge problem. I originally wired the CB directly to the driver's batt.(the CB itself, has an inline fuse). I started the truck up & let it run for awhile as I haven't driven it in about a month. Now, when I turned the radio on, nothing seemed to be wrong. But when I keyed the mic, the idle of the truck had dropped like the battery was draining. Just for shiggles, I took the (-) & hooked it up to the (-) on the pass batt & I get the same thing, maybe a hair better.

I hooked up my multimeter to see what I was getting for voltage. @ idle, the batts. bounce around between 13.6 & 13.58 with the radio on or off. When I keyed in the mic, it drops to about 13.4-13.44 & won't climb any higher until I release the mic. The batts. are relatively new Optima Yellow Tops & the CB itself is just a regular ham radio with no modifications.

I've had CBs hooked up to past gasser trucks with single batts & never had this problem. I don't get the alt. light & the dummy needle doesn't move when I key the mic. Is this plain-jane radio really drawing this much voltage, or is there something else I need to check? How about better suggestions for (+)/(-) hook-ups? Anyone else ever have this problem?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:42 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2008
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Posts: 4,207
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
even if your alt was dead it shouldnt do that imho. something isnt right. how many watts or amps is it pulling? thats weird.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-29-2010, 10:45 AM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by ridiculously_necessary View Post
even if your alt was dead it shouldnt do that imho. something isnt right. how many watts or amps is it pulling? thats weird.
I'll have to pop out the CB to see what it's ratings are, but you're right; this shouldn't be happening. I've had another Cobra 29 hooked up to an old '87 Chevy C-10 directly to a 6yr old battery & never had this problem. You'd figure a Cobra 29 is a Cobra 29. There shouldn't be a whole helluva difference, right?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-29-2010, 12:36 PM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Bump
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:12 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Glen Allen Va
Posts: 510
Thanks: 3
Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Have you tried connecting power source inside the cab?In my truck drivers side has a host of possible connections.Just a thought.What I remember about cb's they were 4 watt power max ,are you going over that?Possible ground problem?

Last edited by Chop; 11-29-2010 at 01:14 PM. Reason: additional info
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-29-2010, 01:25 PM
Member
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 46
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
There is another issue....maybe some sort of interference from the output of the radio.

A Cobra 29 shouldn't pull enough juice to make any difference what so ever unless it has been HIGHLY modified.

What type of antenna are you using and how is the coax routed?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:23 PM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by PsRumors View Post
There is another issue....maybe some sort of interference from the output of the radio.

A Cobra 29 shouldn't pull enough juice to make any difference what so ever unless it has been HIGHLY modified.

What type of antenna are you using and how is the coax routed?
The radio's 100% unmodified right out of the box. The antenna's just a 3' metal whip with a magnet base I bought from a Pilot Travel Center. There's absolutely nothing special about this radio.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-29-2010, 03:33 PM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic
 

Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Semmes, AL
Posts: 96
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
where is the antenna
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 11-30-2010, 11:52 AM
The Screwy HEUI
 

Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Smithfield, RI
Posts: 4,585
Thanks: 5
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by bull36575 View Post
where is the antenna
It's mounted on the roof just above the 3rd brake light. The coax runs between the bed & cab, underneath the cab, up through the engine compartment, & through the hole in the firewall just below the master cylinder, past the steering column, & the CB itself is mounted underneath that little shelf next to the cup holder.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 11-30-2010, 12:04 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Westmoreland,Tn
Posts: 1,999
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Do the truck lights dim or just the radio lights? I am thinking that you may have developed a cb issue inside. I have a highly modified cobra 29 with a wilson 4' intenna on the roof. I had to get the extra large power cord for the radio to help the radio get the power it needed but I ran them just to the body for a ground and then to the driver side hot post. I can key up and talk all night with no issues or drain on the truck. I would take your radio to a respectfull cb repair shop and let them check it out. They should only charge a couple dollars just to check it for ya. Good Luck!
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 07:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors