Auxiliary Idle Controller - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 11-16-2010, 04:17 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Cool Auxiliary Idle Controller

this past week it has started getting colder here in colorado and I got to thinking that a high idle kit would be nice for my 96 obs, after talking to my buddy who works at the ford dealer in town who said the only thing he knew to do was cut a stick to wedge in the pedal I did some searching on here and came up with this.

DFUSER Ford 7.3L Powerstroke Diesel Auxiliary Idle Controller AIC High Idle

I went ahead and ordered it after seeing what the factory ford auxillary idle kit was on fleabay. it was delivered very fast and works just as advertised. I have no affiliation with dfuser just a happy customer.

just wanted anyone interested in having a high idle in their truck to know about this option.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 11-16-2010, 04:26 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I like my FORD aux idle controller......but, to each their own....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 11-16-2010, 05:18 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
the ford unit looked nice but they wanted 160 for them twice the price and this does what I wanted so I am happy.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 11-16-2010, 05:24 PM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
cool! I very rarly use my aux contoller. I may use it once every 2-3 months if I need to jump another car off.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 11-17-2010, 06:09 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Another fan of the Ford AIC here. I'm glad you're happy with your purchase, but you could have built the same thing for much less with parts from Radio Shack. Does anyone know whats inside the box on the Dfuser unit?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 11-17-2010, 02:42 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 31
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I read the threads about building your own but as busy as I am it was easier to pay someone to put it together for me. what does your ford unit do that my dfuser one does not?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 11-17-2010, 03:36 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,355
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by furbis View Post
what does your ford unit do that my dfuser one does not?
Mine can display battery voltage and has 4 pre-programmed (and adjustable) settings. Higher end models also have a PTO control if your truck is PTO equipped. They also display engine RPM.
Not knockin' it, like I said I'm glad it worked out for you and does what you want. I'm into my AIC about $45 less than the Dfuser unit, but I got a great deal on mine.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 11-18-2010, 08:14 PM
Banned
 

Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: North Port
Posts: 920
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 3 reviews
its the same mod we can do on here. its just a box of resistors. I like the Ford one and got it off of eBay for 55 used with the bracket and all wiring.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 12-05-2010, 03:52 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Ct
Posts: 573
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
I found them on ebay but they dont have the harness will a 99 fit a 96?
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 12-05-2010, 03:56 AM
Shaking the Bush Boss
 

Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Salisbury, NC
Posts: 9,740
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yea, its the same harness
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 01:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors