transmission temp gauge - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
post #1 of 24 Old 08-19-2010, 11:39 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
transmission temp gauge

anyone know of an alternate method of hooking up a trans temp gauge? i dont really wanna drill into the pan sounds a little risky for an amateur like me...
1997stoker is offline  
post #2 of 24 Old 08-19-2010, 11:49 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
ridiculously_necessary's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Posts: 4,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does anyone know if our E4OD's have the port for this or was that introduced in the 4R100?

-Matt

Late 99 (2/99) Black F250, CC LB 4x4 Lariat 214k. All Stock for the moment...

1995 PSD, ext cab, one wheel wonder , 297k miles, 30k on wvo. totaled 5/8/11 RIP This truck is for sale as a parts truck (Jason is about to receive forged rods, and drop kick his PMR's)
DB high torque starter
DIY 6637
Marinco Mod
DIY Electric fuel w/ wvo conversion

"A clean house is a sign of a mis-lead life."
ridiculously_necessary is offline  
post #3 of 24 Old 08-19-2010, 11:50 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
justinlogue5_0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Westmoreland,Tn
Posts: 2,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
If yours is the same as my 99 tranny, there will be a drain plug right above the tranny linkage on the drivers side. Unscrew that plug and the temp probe will screw right in its place. You will probably only lose a drop or two of fluid. Hope this helps.

NAME: Justin


A little bit of this and a little bit of that. I want a lot more of this and a lot more of that It never ends!
justinlogue5_0 is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 08-19-2010, 11:54 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
ridiculously_necessary's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Blue Springs, MO
Posts: 4,207
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
yeah ^ thats the one im thinkin of. Check for that port. if its not there, the i would assume splice into the fluid line that goes out to the cooler.

-Matt

Late 99 (2/99) Black F250, CC LB 4x4 Lariat 214k. All Stock for the moment...

1995 PSD, ext cab, one wheel wonder , 297k miles, 30k on wvo. totaled 5/8/11 RIP This truck is for sale as a parts truck (Jason is about to receive forged rods, and drop kick his PMR's)
DB high torque starter
DIY 6637
Marinco Mod
DIY Electric fuel w/ wvo conversion

"A clean house is a sign of a mis-lead life."
ridiculously_necessary is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 08-19-2010, 12:35 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how would i go about splicing into the line?
1997stoker is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 08-19-2010, 12:58 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Wellington Nevada
Posts: 8,703
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks: 1
Thanked 42 Times in 41 Posts
Feedback Score: 5 reviews
No need to drill the pan just remove the plug as stated above. Its a pressure port same size as the sender.
CT Performance, Inc. is offline  
post #7 of 24 Old 08-19-2010, 01:07 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
where is this plug located though? i cant seem to find it...
1997stoker is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 08-19-2010, 01:15 PM
Guest
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: pittsboro, Indiana
Posts: 2,773
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
drivers side of the transmission. Right by the shift linkage.
xxxxxxxSTROKE_THIS_F-250 is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 08-19-2010, 01:43 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
so u have to take the plug out or what? pictures would be nice if anyone had some
1997stoker is offline  
post #10 of 24 Old 08-19-2010, 02:01 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
and also what would be the best way to remove this plug?
1997stoker is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page
Display Modes
Linear Mode Linear Mode



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome