911 - Truck PUrchase Decision - Help with Noise...(thanks) - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-12-2007, 09:35 PM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
911 - Truck PUrchase Decision - Help with Noise...(thanks)

I'm a newbie, about to buy first PSD.

Test drove a very nice 99 (with the pre 99.5 7.3 PSD), Auto Tranny.

Everything seemed GREAT but during the test drive, while exiting the freeway (like first 5 minutes of test drive), noticed a higher pitched noise (not turbo whine) kind of like an overtone to the natural noise of the diesel motor. VERY noticeable. I then crossed over the freeway and listened on the side of the road - seemed natural - so I asked the owner (very nice current owner - original owner etc).

Owner says that the noise is there until you accelerate above 35mph. So, I floor it, truck accelerates and sure enough, at 35mph, the motor quiets (loses the higher pitched overtone to the natural motor sound) but continues to sound like it's accelerating, turbo whine is there, etc, etc.

At the next offramp, the owner tells me to go ahead and let it slow gradually and we both listen for the noise, sure enough, at 35mph, the noise returns. (btw - all this happened while in O/D - didn't test it while NOT in O/D. Also, temp gauge showed it wasn't too cold - had warmed up by then).

Owner tells me it's always been there and it's supposed to be there. She calls it the engine "purring" like when it doesn't need any more power, it makes that noise. That doesn't make sense to me because when I step on it from a stop sign, I hear the turbo whine, the sound I'm worried about is also there, until 35mph, then poof, only the turbo sound.

Other than this, the truck is amazing...

More details:
- 1999 7.3
- ~80k miles
- ALL Stock truck mechanically
- 1" lift in front, 3" lift in rear - 315's.
- Auto Tranny