cps, and turbo lag!! - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 03-02-2007, 03:21 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Richland Center wi
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
cps, and turbo lag!!

lately my truck has been dying randomly, alls i would do is put it in park, and start it, and it would fire... but today it died, and wont start... cps??? and also, i finally got my ts 6 pos chip, very happy with the power, i also installed my air intake, but with all of that i lost my boost, i went from 23 down to barely 16... and it wont register on my gauge until like 2200 rpm, then shoots up to 16 and can definitely tell when it kicks in, then shifts at 3200 rpm... is that normal, or what can i do to help? thanks for your help
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 03-02-2007, 06:31 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 607
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via ICQ to overl0rd Send a message via AIM to overl0rd
You should be seeing more boost and faster spool with an aftermarket intake. Check the clamps on the y-pipe, the turbo outlet, etc. Make sure the MAP hose is good. If all that's ok, take the hose off the turbo inlet and look at the wheel, make sure it doesn't look damaged or sandblasted.

As far as the stalling/no start, the CPS is a good place to start. Beforehand though, check all the fuses in the power distribution box.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 03-02-2007, 08:08 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Richland Center wi
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
ok thanks, i'll be sure to check it out in the morning before work...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 03-02-2007, 08:43 PM
duct tape & zip ties

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Willis, MI
Posts: 10,761
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via Yahoo to bigcountrysg
i aggree, but i want to add, replace your cps then see what your boost is. being your engine needs a new cps you may not be running at full performance. possibilly caused by the cps.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 03-03-2007, 05:21 AM
7.3 tech, supporter

 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wichita KS
Posts: 1,224
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Does the Tach move when you crank on it?? If it don't almost definetly a CPS
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 03-03-2007, 08:41 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Richland Center wi
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
no the tach hardely moves, so hopefully this fixes it, im a broke college student in wyoming, cant afford too much haha.....
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 03-03-2007, 09:15 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Surrey B.C. Canada
Posts: 4,507
Thanks: 0
Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Hey Smyth, as said above, check the connection for the boost gauge, because with what you have done, you should not loose boost, in fact you should be picking up a little. And I agree with the CPS causing the start problem.

Gord.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 03-03-2007, 10:17 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: OREGON
Posts: 1,109
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Off Topic- You going to wyo-tech or UW? I lived in Ft Laramie, and Lingle for a few years. Good hunting.

On Topic- Go to an international dealer or ebay for the cps as it is quite a bit cheaper than going to ford. Good luck
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 03-03-2007, 10:25 PM
Member
 

Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Richland Center wi
Posts: 33
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
i am at wyotech for applied service manegement, and diesel.... three months left but yea, i ordered one off of ebay before it went out completely, but it hasnt arrived yet...
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 03-04-2007, 06:46 AM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Akron, OH
Posts: 607
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Send a message via ICQ to overl0rd Send a message via AIM to overl0rd
I thought about going to wyotech, never did though.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 09:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors