1995 powerstroke mpg? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-28-2007, 09:33 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
1995 powerstroke mpg?

powerstroke newbie here.

I'm just wondering if this sounds right. 14 mpg city/highway does not seem to matter. Rarely spun past 2000 rpm. Its a king cab 4x4 aod 3.55 gears. I can run it in witht he hubs locked, unlocked or in 4x4 and it does not change the mpg. I made sure the air is up in all 4 tires. I checked for leaks all i see is it looks a little wet in the lifter valley and on the pump pipes. No puddles or anything just wet looking. Thye truck has been well maintained with 160k miles. It starts good runs good pulls hard the tranny works fine also. Only thing is the first morning start it will puff a fairly big cloud of smoke. On the road you can run it up to 3000 rpm the turbo whistles fairly loud and it hauls with no signs of smoke out the pipe. I'm wondering it the o-rings are leaking? Easiest way would be to check the fuel bowl right? to see if there is any oil in there. Is it located under the plastic intake cover?

I would think the powerstroke should be better on fuel as i owned a 88 7.3 idi 4x4 with 4.10 gears and a manual 4 speed no o/d and it got 16mpg running at 2500-2600 rpm at 55mph(same winter/summer, 4x4 or 2wd) compared to the powerstroke running 1500 rpm @ 55mph. No load so i doubt there is more than 2 -3lbs of boost at cruising speed empty.

Thanks

EDIT: no check engine light and it will start fairly easy at 16 degrees not plugged in. Plug it in for 1 hr at 6 degrees outside and it starts easy.

Last edited by 95PDXLT; 02-28-2007 at 09:45 AM.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 02-28-2007, 09:45 AM
Powerstroke.org Fanatic