how to desactivate DRL ? - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 08-09-2009, 02:41 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Repentigny
Posts: 134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how to desactivate DRL ?

I dont want my drl anymore. I tried to unplug the module but the ebrake and high beam lights do not come on anymore.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
  #2  
Old 08-09-2009, 06:11 PM
Electrical Ogre
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 11,456
Thanks: 29
Thanked 45 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Unplug the module, then at the module connector:
Splice grey w/white stripe to light green w/black stripe.
Splice pink w/white stripe to light green w/red stripe.
This will allow the dash indicators to work correctly for brake and high beam
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #3  
Old 08-09-2009, 06:48 PM
Illiana Chapter Director

 

Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bloomington, IN.
Posts: 12,316
Thanks: 5
Thanked 84 Times in 79 Posts
Feedback Score: 2 reviews
Just remove the actual DRL fuse, problem solved. No need to be cutting and splicing wires.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #4  
Old 08-09-2009, 07:15 PM
Electrical Ogre
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 11,456
Thanks: 29
Thanked 45 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Not so easy on an OBS. If you pull fuse 5, you'll lose the back-up lamps. If you pull fuse 3, you'll lose the horn.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #5  
Old 08-10-2009, 05:39 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 710
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Question

Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3 View Post
Unplug the module, then at the module connector:
Splice grey w/white stripe to light green w/black stripe.
Splice pink w/white stripe to light green w/red stripe.
This will allow the dash indicators to work correctly for brake and high beam
Not to hijack (spell?) this thread but, How can I make that the DRL module functions in my truck wich is not normally connected? Its that possible? and what lights are going to be on?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #6  
Old 08-10-2009, 06:01 PM
Electrical Ogre
 

Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Calgary, Alberta
Posts: 11,456
Thanks: 29
Thanked 45 Times in 42 Posts
Feedback Score: 1 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by CELAYORK View Post
Not to hijack (spell?) this thread but, How can I make that the DRL module functions in my truck wich is not normally connected? Its that possible? and what lights are going to be on?

Thanks.
The OBS DRL will run the high beams at a low brightness until you turn on either low beams or high beams. If the parking brake is set, it will turn them off. It may be possible to retrofit a truck to DRL. Look around on your rad support on the driver's side for a extra connector behind the headlight/signal. They may have a bypass jumper in the connector, which you'd just plug the module into.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #7  
Old 08-10-2009, 06:23 PM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 710
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Lightbulb

Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3 View Post
The OBS DRL will run the high beams at a low brightness until you turn on either low beams or high beams. If the parking brake is set, it will turn them off. It may be possible to retrofit a truck to DRL. Look around on your rad support on the driver's side for a extra connector behind the headlight/signal. They may have a bypass jumper in the connector, which you'd just plug the module into.
If I understood correctly, the only I need is to buy a module and plug it into the extra connector, maybe removing a jumper? where can I buy the module? any # part?

Thanks.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #8  
Old 08-12-2009, 10:20 AM
Member
 

Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 69
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
how to desactivate DRL ?-image10.jpgThe DRL modules are all the same from Tempo's to Louisville's...
Unless your truck is 1989 or older or imported from the us it will have EU regulation DRL's. (runs high beams at 7 volts)
The modules do go bad occasionally, get one from auto recycler.
If truck does not have the DRL harness it's an easy job to get couple feet of harness from donor truck at recyclers and splice it in.
Attached is wiring diagram
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #9  
Old 08-14-2009, 11:20 AM
Compression Ignition Addict
 

Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 710
Thanks: 2
Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by crazy_canadian View Post
I dont want my drl anymore. I tried to unplug the module but the ebrake and high beam lights do not come on anymore.
I found this link, maybe help you a little:
How To Enable Or Disable Ford Daytime Running Lights

Quote:
Originally Posted by roddy View Post
Attachment 10033The DRL modules are all the same from Tempo's to Louisville's...
Unless your truck is 1989 or older or imported from the us it will have EU regulation DRL's. (runs high beams at 7 volts)
The modules do go bad occasionally, get one from auto recycler.
If truck does not have the DRL harness it's an easy job to get couple feet of harness from donor truck at recyclers and splice it in.
Attached is wiring diagram
Thank you sir.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
  #10  
Old 09-09-2009, 06:04 PM
Premium Member
 

Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Repentigny
Posts: 134
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Feedback Score: 0 reviews
Quote:
Originally Posted by alberta 7.3 View Post
Unplug the module, then at the module connector:
Splice grey w/white stripe to light green w/black stripe.
Splice pink w/white stripe to light green w/red stripe.
This will allow the dash indicators to work correctly for brake and high beam
Thanks! It worked.
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in

Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -8. The time now is 02:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1
Garage Plus, Vendor Tools vBulletin Plugins by Drive Thru Online, Inc.

vB.Sponsors