'96 no start - Ford Powerstroke Diesel Forum
Powerstroke.org is the premier Diesel Truck Forum on the internet. Registered Users do not see the above ads.

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-22-2009, 09:33 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie

Feedback Score: 0 reviews
'96 no start

Howdy All,
I'm a newbie here. I have a 1996 f250 4x4. I bought the truck non running. First thing I did was change the cps ( I had a spare from another truck). No help. I checked the hpop pressure and it was zero. There was oil in the reservoir, so I changed the hpop. Truck started and ran great. I let it sit and idle for about ten minutes and then it just died. Would not start again. I changed the cps back to the original ( tach moves while cranking) and still no start. I checked the fuel pressure and it wouldn't come up past 10 psi. I installed a new pump and cleaned the vent orifice filter along with the filter bowl. Filter is new and bowl fills. Fuel pressure is back to around 48psi while cranking. The one thing that stands out is whenever I'm cranking the engine, the B+ side of the gp solenoid smokes. The check engine light does not stay on and the wait to start light works normally. The batteries aren't the best, but they crank pretty good with a charger on them. Any help will be appreciated.

Denny
Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

Old 07-22-2009, 11:00 AM
Compression Ignition Addict

i think tme motor has to turn a good 300 rpm to fire properly. think your hitting that? no fuel leaks?

i see your in MO too. when you have time head to the missouri section of this forum and become a member of the show-me strokers!

and
Old 07-22-2009, 11:11 AM
Powerstroke.org Rookie